- Library Home
- LibGuides
- Website
- Faculty Resources
- FYW Library Instruction
Faculty Resources
Library resources and services for faculty.
Your Librarian
Welcome
This FYW Library Instruction guide is meant to provide you with tutorials and modules for D2L and compliment in-person, synchronous instruction. If you'd like to schedule a special visit with one of our librarians, or if you have an idea for a unique research assignment, please reach out to apajewski@wcupa.edu - I'd be happy to work with you!
Pre-research
Videos with ideas for helping with topic and keyword development.
- Developing a Research QuestionThis video by librarians at North Kentucky University explains what a research question is and provides some tips for developing a good one.
- Using Wikipedia in the Research ProcessAddresses using Wikipedia to help narrow topics, identify terminology/keywords, and discover scholarly sources.
- Embed Codes
Find the embed code for the Wikipedia video.
Searching for sources
These are all videos made by WCU librarians on using our library resources. We usually recommend the Library Search Tool (AKA search box on the library home page) for WRT classes, as it is a good starting point for almost any topic and will find a mix of scholarly and popular sources.
Basics
- Getting Started with ResearchA general introduction to using the Library Search Tool for research.
- Accessing Full TextThis video builds on the intro video by showing how to get to the full text of sources when using Library Search.
- Saving Articles & CitationsShows how to get citations formatted in different styles and how to save and email articles.
- Getting Help with ResearchHow students can get research help from WCU Librarians.
- Embed CodesFind the embed codes for the Getting Started, Accessing Full Text, Saving Citations, and Getting Help videos.
Advanced
- Advanced SearchingShows your students how to use the advanced search screen and Boolean operators to get better search results.
- Getting Articles and Books WCU Doesn't HaveIntroduces students to using the ILLiad system to request articles and books WCU doesn't own.
- Library Links that WorkIf you need your students to share articles with you or other students or want links in their bibliographies, this video shows how to get them.
- Embed CodesFind the embed codes for the Advanced Searching, Getting Articles, and Library Links videos.
Beyond Library Search
- WCU Libraries Tutorials Home PageThis page is the home of many other videos we've made, include videos on finding books and streaming films and videos on using EBSCO databases.
Understanding and evaluating sources
- Inform Your Thinking: Research is a ConversationThis video from Oklahoma Sate Libraries introduces students to the concept of scholarly conversations and discusses how they can take part.
- What is Scholarly Research?This video includes tips on how to tell if something is scholarly, including a brief explanation of peer review. It is by librarian Vanessa Garofalo.
- Scholarly and Popular SourcesWhile the video above focuses on just scholarly sources, this one by Lincoln Memorial University compares and contrasts scholarly with popular sources.
- 4-step Source AssessmentLooking for something more in-depth on assessing sources? This longer video by WCU Business Librarian Grace Liu goes over numerous strategies.
- 4-step Source Assessment HandoutThe companion handout to the video.
Bibliographies and citing sources
- What's an Annotated BibliographyA very short video on annotated bibliographies from Brock University Library.
- Understanding MLA Style (8th edition)This is a longer video, but does a great job of explaining the logic of how MLA 8th edition organizes citations. It is from an English professor at Rockford University.
- APA Format 7th Edition: Reference Page TutorialThis is a very long video, but the maker included time stamps so that students can jump to specific segments.