These recommended readings from Professor Heubner may be a good place to get started! Many are available through the libraries' databases or on the web (links provided). There are a few articles we don't have access to, but you can use the ILLiad interlibrary loan system to request a copy (usually takes 1-2 business days and arrives as a PDF).
Collins, Patricia Hill. 2000. “Mammies, Matriarchs, and Other Controlling Images” from Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment, Second Edition. New York: Routledge.
Lorde, Audre. 1984. “Master’s Tools Will Never Dismantle The Master’s House” Sister Outsider. Crossing Press.
https://go.openathens.net/redirector/wcupa.edu?url=https://www.proquest.com/books/sister-outsider-essays-speeches/docview/2138588223/se-2?accountid=14971, then navigate to the correct essay using the menu on the left.
Crenshaw, Kimberle’. 1991. “Mapping the Margins: Intersectionality, Identity Politics, and Violence Against Women of Color.” Stanford Law Review. 43:1241-99.
Huebner, Lisa C. 2008. It is Part of the Job: Waitresses and Nurses Define Sexual Harassment. Sociological Viewpoints. Fall: 75-90.
WCU doesn’t have access to this journal article. It can be requested via the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service.
Jauk, Daniela. 2013. “Invisible Lives, Silenced Violence: Transphobic Gender Violence in Global Perspective.” Gendered Perspectives on Conflict and Violence: Part A, pp. 111-136.
https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/wcupa/reader.action?docID=1507578&ppg=122, then look for the PDF icon at the top of the page to download the entire chapter for easier reading.
Lloyd, Moya. 2013. “Heternormativity and/as Violence: The Sexing of Gwen Araujo.” Hypatia 28(4): 1-18.
Wells-Barnett, Ida B. 1895. The Red Record.
https://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/14977
Southern Poverty Law Center
Crago, Anna- Louise. 2014. “Bitches Killing the Nation”: Analyzing the Violent State-Sponsored Repression of Sex Workers in Zambia, 2004–2008.” Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society, 39(2): 365-381.
Davis, Angela Y. 2003. Are Prisons Obsolete. Seven Stories Press.
We have this book in print only: https://sshelco-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/f/kj58so/01SSHELCO_WCHESTER_ALMA2174255280003573
Davis, Angela. 1981. “Rape, Racism, and the Myth of the Black Rapist” in Women, Race, and Class. New York, NY: Vintage Books.
https://go.openathens.net/redirector/wcupa.edu?url=https://www.proquest.com/books/women-race-class/docview/2138589067/se-2?accountid=14971then use the menu on the left to navigate to the correct chapter (11).
Lorde Audre. For the Record In memory of Eleanor Bumpers
https://www.usprisonculture.com/blog/2012/03/27/poem-for-the-day-for-the-record-by-audre-lorde/
Trenholm, Jill et al. 2016. “The global, the ethnic and the gendered war: women and rape in eastern Democratic Republic of Congo,” Gender, Place, and Culture, 23(4): 484-502.
WCU doesn’t have access to this journal article. It can be requested via the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service.
Burke, Mary (Ed.). 2017. Human Trafficking: Interdisciplinary Perspectives, 2nd Edition. Routledge.
Crann, Sara E. and Paula C. Barata. 2015. “The Experience of Resilience for Adult Female Survivors of Intimate Partner Violence: A Phenomenological Inquiry.” Violence Against Women, 1-23.
Projanksy, Sarah. 2010. “Rihanna’s Closed Eyes.” The Velvet Light Trap 65: 71-73.
Wang, Yu-Wei. 2011. “Voices From the Margin: A Case Study of A Rural Lesbian’s Experience with Woman-To-Woman Sexual Violence. Journal of Lesbian Studies, 15:166–175.
WCU doesn’t have access to this journal article. It can be requested via the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service, using an article request.
Roy, Srila. 2009. “The Ethical Ambivalence of Resistant Violence: Notes from Postcolonial South Asia.” Feminist Review, 91: 135-153.
Your Bibliography Assignment requires at least two scholarly sources from each of the three major disciplinary approaches studied in class: Women's and Gender Studies, Sociology, and History. Below are the library databases dedicated to each of those disciplines. Searching in them is going to be the easiest way to find articles that meet that requirement.
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia from 1972 to present. Essential subjects covered include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism, gender identity and more.
A comprehensive and high quality sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
Source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
While articles from the three core databases will likely be at the center of your arguments, you may want to supplement them with articles from related disciplines.
This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, this resource contains peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
The premier database for research in communication studies.
Tip: If using Library Search for scholarly sources, look for the link to limit to just Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals in the column to the left.
Your various assignments for this class focus on scholarly journal articles, which tend to have the most current research. In some cases, there may also be scholarly books that will provide history, background, and context for your topic.
Tip: Aren't sure what discipline a book is from? Look up the author(s). A quick Google search search for "Authors full name" site:.edu will usually pull back a page from the college/university they are affiliated with and you can check their department.
This box is set to search just the library catalog.
Keep in mind that these are just a few examples of books from the last 10 years. We have many, many more related to your class topics!
Note: There are also a lot of popular, self-help type books out there on resilience. Nothing wrong with that, but most of those type of books aren't going to be appropriate for this class.
The Resilience Handbook by
How are people and communities able to prevail despite challenge? What helps them bounce back from adversity and even grow in knowledge and understanding? And can this resilience be taught? During the past decade, exciting scientific advances have shed light on how resilience operates from neurons to neighborhoods. In The Resilience Handbook, experts in the science of resilience draw on human and animal research to describe the process of resilience and follow its course as it unfolds both within individuals and in social networks. Contributors also highlight the promise of new interventions that apply what we know about resilience processes to bolster positive health, and raise some of the pressing questions and issues for the field as it matures. This handbook is designed to be used by students as an invitation to a burgeoning field; by researchers, as a framework for advancing theories, hypotheses, and empirical tests of resilience functions; and by clinicians, as a comprehensive and up-to-the-minute integration of theory and practice.
Transcending Trauma by
Based on twenty years of intense qualitative research, Transcending Trauma presents an integrated model of coping and adaptation after trauma that incorporates the best of recent work in the field with the expanded insights offered by Holocaust survivors. In the book's vignettes and interview transcripts, survivors of a broad range of traumas will recognize their own challenges, and mental-health professionals will gain invaluable insight into the dominant themes both of Holocaust survivors and of trauma survivors more generally. Together, the authors and contributors Sheryl Perlmutter Bowen, Hannah Kliger, Lucy Raizman, Juliet Spitzer and Emilie Scherz Passow have transformed qualitative narrative analysis and framed for us a new and profound understanding of survivorship. Their study has illuminated universal aspects of the recovery from trauma, and Transcending Trauma makes a vital contribution to our understanding of how survivors find meaning after traumatic events. Accompanying Transcending Trauma is a CD of full-text life histories that documents the survivor experience. In seven comprehensive interviews, survivors paint a picture of life before and after war and trauma: their own feelings, beliefs, and personalities as well as those of their family; their struggles to deal with loss and suffering; and the ways in which their family relationships were able, in some cases, to mediate the transmission of trauma across generations and help the survivors transcend the trauma of their experiences.
Gender Violence: A Cultural Perspective by
Taking an anthropological perspective, this comprehensive book offers a highly readable and concise overview of what constitutes gender violence, its social context, and important directions in intervention and reform. Uses stories, personal accounts, case studies and a global perspective to provide a vivid and engaging portrait of forms of violence in gendered relationships Extensively covers many forms of gender violence including domestic violence, rape, murder, wartime sexual assault, prison and police violence, female genital cutting, dowry murders, female infanticide, "honor" killings, and sex trafficking Examines major approaches to diminishing gender violence such as criminalization, batterer retraining programs, and human rights interventions Highlights the role of social movements in defining the problem and mobilizing reforms in the US and internationally
Gender Violence in Peace and War: States of Complicity by
Reports from war zones often note the obscene victimization of women, who are frequently raped, tortured, beaten, and pressed into sexual servitude. Yet this reign of terror against women not only occurs during exceptional moments of social collapse, but during peacetime too. As this powerful book argues, violence against women should be understood as a systemic problem--one for which the state must be held accountable. The twelve essays in Gender Violence in Peace and War present a continuum of cases where the state enables violence against women--from state-sponsored torture to lax prosecution of sexual assault. Some contributors uncover buried histories of state violence against women throughout the twentieth century, in locations as diverse as Ireland, Indonesia, and Guatemala. Others spotlight ongoing struggles to define the state's role in preventing gendered violence, from domestic abuse policies in the Russian Federation to anti-trafficking laws in the United States. Bringing together cutting-edge research from political science, history, gender studies, anthropology, and legal studies, this collection offers a comparative analysis of how the state facilitates, legitimates, and perpetuates gender violence worldwide. The contributors also offer vital insights into how states might adequately protect women's rights in peacetime, as well as how to intervene when a state declares war on its female citizens.
Violence Against Queer People: Race, Class, Gender, and the Persistence of Anti-LGBT Discrimination by
Violence against lesbians and gay men has increasingly captured media and scholarly attention. But these reports tend to focus on one segment of the LGBT community--white, middle class men--and largely ignore that part of the community that arguably suffers a larger share of the violence--racial minorities, the poor, and women. In Violence against Queer People, sociologist Doug Meyer offers the first investigation of anti-queer violence that focuses on the role played by race, class, and gender. Drawing on interviews with forty-seven victims of violence, Meyer shows that LGBT people encounter significantly different forms of violence--and perceive that violence quite differently--based on their race, class, and gender. His research highlights the extent to which other forms of discrimination--including racism and sexism--shape LGBT people's experience of abuse. He reports, for instance, that lesbian and transgender women often described violent incidents in which a sexual or a misogynistic component was introduced, and that LGBT people of color sometimes weren't sure if anti-queer violence was based solely on their sexuality or whether racism or sexism had also played a role. Meyer observes that given the many differences in how anti-queer violence is experienced, the present media focus on white, middle-class victims greatly oversimplifies and distorts the nature of anti-queer violence. In fact, attempts to reduce anti-queer violence that ignore race, class, and gender run the risk of helping only the most privileged gay subjects. Many feel that the struggle for gay rights has largely been accomplished and the tide of history has swung in favor of LGBT equality. Violence against Queer People, on the contrary, argues that the lives of many LGBT people--particularly the most vulnerable--have improved very little, if at all, over the past thirty years.
Comparative Perspectives on Gender Violence by
The United States has uncritically exported its law and policy on gender violence without regard to effectiveness or cultural context, and without asking what we might learn from efforts to combat gender violence in the rest of the world. This book asks that question. Comparative Perspectiveson Gender Violence: Lessons From Efforts Worldwide documents the global scope of gender violence, from countries where the legal response is just emerging to countries with longstanding law and policy regimes.Informed by international human rights law, Comparative Perspectives on Gender Violence examines policy successes and failures and grassroots efforts to elicit a robust and proactive response from China to Chile. From the work of local activists to stem the tide of sexual and intimate partnerviolence after the Haitian earthquake of 2005, to the efforts to eradicate dowry-related violence in India, to the public education campaigns to prevent domestic violence in Scotland, Comparative Perspectives on Gender Violence offers a comprehensive vision of efforts around the world to eradicategender based violence.Featuring the work of leading gender violence academics and activists around the world, Comparative Perspectives on Gender Violence provides a new lens through which to consider U.S. efforts to address gender violence.
Gender, Violence, and Human Security: Critical Feminist Perspectives by
The nature of human security is changing globally: interstate conflict and even intrastate conflict may be diminishing worldwide, yet threats to individuals and communities persist. Large-scale violence by formal and informal armed forces intersects with interpersonal and domestic forms of violence in mutually reinforcing ways. Gender, Violence, and Human Security takes a critical look at notions of human security and violence through a feminist lens, drawing on both theoretical perspectives and empirical examinations through case studies from a variety of contexts around the globe. This fascinating volume goes beyond existing feminist international relations engagements with security studies to identify not only limitations of the human security approach, but also possible synergies between feminist and human security approaches. Noted scholars Aili Mari Tripp, Myra Marx Ferree, and Christina Ewig, along with their distinguished group of contributors, analyze specific case studies from around the globe, ranging from post-conflict security in Croatia to the relationship between state policy and gender-based crime in the United States. Shifting the focus of the term "human security" from its defensive emphasis to a more proactive notion of peace, the book ultimately calls for addressing the structural issues that give rise to violence. A hard-hitting critique of the ways in which global inequalities are often overlooked by human security theorists, Gender, Violence, and Human Security presents a much-needed intervention into the study of power relations throughout the world.
Human Trafficking by
The practice of one human being exploiting another in slavery-like conditions is not new. Today, it is called human trafficking. Social, political, and economic forces over the past 60 years have changed how and why this human rights abuse occurs. In order to solve this or any social problem, it is important that it is fully understood. With a range of contributing subject experts from different disciplines and professions, this text comprehensively explains human trafficking as it exists and is being addressed in the twenty-first century. Human Trafficking is essential reading for professionals working in many fields, including law enforcement, human services, and health care, and for concerned citizens interested in human rights and how to make a difference in their communities. This book is also intended for use in undergraduate and graduate interdisciplinary courses in human trafficking. A bank of test items applicable to each article in the book is available to instructors interested in selecting this edition for course use. Simply send an e.mail to the publisher at saleshss@taylorandfrancis.com
Global Lynching and Collective Violence : Volume 1: Asia, Africa, and the Middle East.
Global lynching and collective violence. The Americas and Europe. Volume 2 by
In this second volume of the groundbreaking survey, Michael J. Pfeifer edits a collection of essays that illuminates lynching and other extrajudicial "rough justice" as a transnational phenomenon responding to cultural and legal issues. The volume's European-themed topics explore why three communities of medieval people turned to mob violence, and the ways exclusion from formal institutions fueled peasant rough justice in Russia. Essays on Latin America examine how lynching in the United States influenced Brazilian debates on race and informal justice, and how shifts in religious and political power drove lynching in twentieth-century Mexico. Finally, scholars delve into English Canadians' use of racist and mob violence to craft identity; the Communist Party's Depression-era campaign against lynching in the United States; and the transnational links that helped form--and later emanated from--Wisconsin's notoriously violent skinhead movement in the late twentieth century. Contributors: Brent M. S. Campney, Amy Chazkel, Stephen P. Frank, Dean J. Kotlowski, Michael J. Pfeifer, Gema Santamaría, Ryan Shaffer, and Hannah Skoda.
The Rising Tide of Color by
The Rising Tide of Color challenges familiar narratives of race in American history that all too often present the U.S. state as a benevolent force in struggles against white supremacy, especially in the South. Featuring a wide range of scholars specializing in American history and ethnic studies, this powerful collection of essays highlights historical moments and movements on the Pacific Coast and across the Pacific to reveal a different story of race and politics. From labor and anticolonial activists around World War I and multiracial campaigns by anarchists and communists in the 1930s to the policing of race and sexuality after World War II and transpacific movements against the Vietnam War, The Rising Tide of Color brings to light histories of race, state violence, and radical movements that continue to shape our world in the twenty-first century.
Who Do You Serve, Who Do You Protect? by
What is the reality of policing in the United States? Do the police keep anyone safe and secure other than the very wealthy? How do recent police killings of young black people in the United States fit into the historical and global context of anti-blackness? This collection of reports and essays (the first collaboration between Truthout and Haymarket Books) explores police violence against black, brown, indigenous and other marginalized communities, miscarriages of justice, and failures of token accountability and reform measures. It also makes a compelling and provocative argument against calling the police. Contributions cover a broad range of issues including the killing by police of black men and women, police violence against Latino and indigenous communities, law enforcement's treatment of pregnant people and those with mental illness, and the impact of racist police violence on parenting, as well as specific stories such as a Detroit police conspiracy to slap murder convictions on young black men using police informant and the failure of Chicago's much-touted Independent Police Review Authority, the body supposedly responsible for investigating police misconduct. The title Who Do You Serve, Who Do You Protect? is no mere provocation: the book also explores alternatives for keeping communities safe. Contributors include William C. Anderson, Candice Bernd, Aaron Cant#65533;, Thandi Chimurenga, Ejeris Dixon, Adam Hudson, Victoria Law, Mike Ludwig, Sarah Macaraeg, and Roberto Rodriguez.
Violence and the State by
In providing a counterweight to the notion that political violence has irrevocably changed in a globalised world, Violence and the state offers an original and innovative way in which to understand political violence across a range of discipline areas. It explores the complex relationship between the state and its continued use of violence through a variety of historical and contemporary case studies, including the Napoleonic Wars, Nazi and Soviet 'eliticide', the consolidation of authority in modern China, post-Soviet Russia, and international criminal tribunals. It also looks at humanitarian intervention in cases of organised violence, and the willingness of elites to alter their attitude to violence if it is an instrument to achieve their own ends.The interdisciplinary approach, which spans history, sociology, international law and international relations, ensures that this book will be invaluable to a broad cross-section of scholars and politically engaged readers alike.
When Police Kill by
Deaths of civilians at the hands of on-duty police are in the national spotlight as never before. How many killings by police occur annually? What circumstances provoke police to shoot to kill? Who dies? The lack of answers to these basic questions points to a crisis in American government that urgently requires the attention of policy experts. When Police Kill is a groundbreaking analysis of the use of lethal force by police in the United States and how its death toll can be reduced. Franklin Zimring compiles data from federal records, crowdsourced research, and investigative journalism to provide a comprehensive, fact-based picture of how, when, where, and why police resort to deadly force. Of the 1,100 killings by police in the United States in 2015, he shows, 85 percent were fatal shootings and 95 percent of victims were male. The death rates for African Americans and Native Americans are twice their share of the population. Civilian deaths from shootings and other police actions are vastly higher in the United States than in other developed nations, but American police also confront an unusually high risk of fatal assault. Zimring offers policy prescriptions for how federal, state, and local governments can reduce killings by police without risking the lives of officers. Criminal prosecution of police officers involved in killings is rare and only necessary in extreme cases. But clear administrative rules could save hundreds of lives without endangering police officers.
Disability, Hate Crime and Violence by
This book provides a comprehensive and interdisciplinary examination of disability, hate crime and violence, exploring its emergence on the policy agenda. Engaging with the latest debates in criminology, disability and violence studies, it goes beyond conventional notions of hate crime to look at violences in their myriad forms as they are seen to impact upon disabled people¿s lives. Despite a raft of relevant policy and legislation, few have attempted to draw together research on the disabled as victims of hate crime and violence. This innovative volume conceptualizes issues of disability, hate crime and violence and connects empirical research with theoretical insights. Making links between criminal justice policy, social care and welfare, it highlights areas of best practice and makes suggestions for policy and legislative reform. Disability, Hate Crime and Violence is written in accessible language, with minimal jargon and an international focus. Each chapter is grounded in research and practice, with relevant policy and legislation clearly signposted throughout. Disability, Hate Crime and Violence provides a much needed theoretical and practical investigation of the key issues around disabled hate crime and violence. It is an important work for students and academics researching and studying in disability studies, criminology, social policy and sociology, as well as those with an interest in domestic violence studies and broader historical and philosophical constructions of disability, violence and social harms.
