LibGuides: Women's and Gender Studies: Find scholarly articles

Core database for women's and gender studies

Starting with the Gender Studies Database can help you to ground your research in secondary sources written from a women's and gender studies disciplinary perspective.

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia from 1972 to present. Essential subjects covered include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism, gender identity and more.
(EBSCOhost)

Interdisciplinary databases

A large portion of women's and gender studies is interdisciplinary in nature. Once you have searched in the Gender Studies database, pick at least one of the databases listed (or go to our full list of databases) to continue your research.

Sociology

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and high quality sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
(EBSCOhost)

Psychology

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this resource contains peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
For more help, watch the library's PsycINFO tutorials on keyword searching and subject heading searching.
(EBSCOhost)

Education

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source contains the largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals providing scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties.
(EBSCOhost)

Religion

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for all fields of religious study, ATLA has citations and some full-text for scholarly journals, essays, book reviews and multi-author works from the American Theological Library Association.
(EBSCOhost)

Health

Health Source: Nursing and Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Full text access to scholarly journals covering many medical disciplines.
(EBSCOhost)
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
Leading full-text database of top biomedical and health journals.
For more help, watch the library's MEDLINE tutorials on keyword searching
and subject heading searching.
(EBSCOhost)

Literature

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly research in the areas of language, literature, linguistics, and folklore from journal articles, books, essays, proceedings, dissertations, bibliographies & working papers.
For more help, watch the library's MLA tutorials on:
Author/work Searching
Advanced Searches
Using Limiters
Getting Full Text.
(EBSCOhost)

Library Search tool

The Library Search tool (search box on library homepage) cross-searches many databases. It is especially useful in the following situations.

1) Your research topic is very interdisciplinary and you would want research from multiple disciplines.

2) You have searched in a couple of other databases and still don't have enough sources.

3) Your research topic is related to popular culture-- tv, film, music, video games, food, sports, etc.