You need some sources from Women's and Gender Studies journals. These will help ground your argument/analysis in the Women's and Gender Studies perspectives.
Tip: Not all databases have the full text of every article. If you don't see full text, look for the "check availability" link. If we do have the full text article in another database, it will link you to it. If not, follow the directions on the left to request the article through interlibrary loan (free service for students).
These databases were selected based on the topics we had time to discuss in class. It isn't an exhaustive list.
Tip: For research at this level, I prefer using specialized databases because they allow you a lot of control over your search. However, if you aren't having any luck, or your topic covers multiple disciplines, you can also try the Library Search tool (at the bottom of the list).
Tip: If using Library Search for scholarly sources, look for the link to limit to just Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals in the column to the left.
Don't forget to look for books! This is especially true if your topic is based more in the humanities (literature, history, philosophy, religion, pop culture) or arts (art, music), because book publishing is a big part of scholarship in these fields.
Tip: If you aren't sure if a book is scholarly, ask either Professor Huebner or me to take a look at it.
This box is set to search just the library catalog.
While the core of your research will be scholarly sources, you may want to supplement them with non-scholarly sources. Some of those may be non-library sources like social media posts or blogs. But the library has access to tons of newspaper and magazine articles, as well as a host of literary and historical primary sources. You can start your search for these using the Library Search tool.
Tip: Look at the column on the left for ways to limit your search by date and by source type (like newspaper articles).