Education Librarian
Getting Started
Unsure where to start with a research assignment? Here are some steps to follow:
- Pick a topic that interests you, is researchable, and fits your assignment needs.
- Create a research question to help you critically analyze your topic. Some background research on your topic may be needed to do so.
- Develop a search strategy using relevant databases, keywords, and database tools like Subject terms and date ranges.
- Review and evaluate search results. You'll likely have to do multiple searches to find everything you need.
Need help? Make an appointment with the Education Librarian.
Education Research in Library Databases
Education Databases
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source contains the largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals providing scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
Full-text documents for a variety of source types including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more. In addition, it provides an education-specific thesaurus that includes controlled vocabulary to help users find what they need.
- Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines. Includes full-text for many of the publications.
- eBook Education Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Quality e-books supporting students and faculty in the education discipline. Titles range from introductory texts for undergraduate coursework to more complex and detailed works for advanced students and scholars. Also included are support materials for teachers and professionals working in K-12 and higher education classrooms, covering topics from curriculum building to student behavior and dynamics.
Databases for Childhood Development
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this resource contains peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Essential tool for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, providing extensive full-text coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.