Worlds of Music 2: Blog

Creating Harmony through Rhythm: Drum Circle Event with Music Therapy MPT191 & Presser Music Library

Are you ready to experience the transformative power of rhythm? Join us for an exciting drum circle event in collaboration with Music Therapy MPT191! This unique gathering promises to be a celebration of community, healing, and the universal language of music.

Join Us!

We invite everyone to participate in our drum circle event, whether you are a seasoned drummer or a curious beginner. Bring your own drum or use one of ours, and let's create beautiful rhythms together. This event is open to all ages and abilities, and no prior experience is necessary.

Event Details

• Date: May 2, 2025
• Time: 12:00 noon
• Location: Swope Lawn

Don't miss this opportunity to connect with others through the universal language of rhythm. Let's drum up some joy and harmony!

Why Drum Circles?

Drum circles are more than just a musical activity; they are a powerful tool for connection and healing. Participants come together to create spontaneous rhythms, fostering a sense of unity and shared purpose. The benefits of drum circles are well-documented in music therapy, including stress reduction, improved mood, and enhanced social interaction.

Global Sounds for Libraries: A Treasure Trove of Rhythms

To enrich our drum circle experience, we are drawing inspiration from the Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries database. This incredible resource offers a vast collection of recordings from around the world, showcasing the diversity and richness of global musical traditions. From African drumming to Latin American percussion, the database provides a wealth of material that can enhance our understanding and appreciation of different rhythmic styles.

Featured Resources

Here are some highlights from the Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries that you can explore:

1. African Drumming: Discover the intricate rhythms and cultural significance of African drumming traditions. These recordings offer a deep dive into the techniques and instruments used in various African communities.

Africa: The Voices and Drums of Africa

https://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/bibliographic_entity|recorded_cd|73482?account_id=14971&usage_group_id=94847

Drums of the Yoruba of Nigeria

https://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/bibliographic_entity|recorded_cd|71838?account_id=14971&usage_group_id=94847

2. Latin American Percussion: Immerse yourself in the vibrant sounds of Latin American percussion. From the conga to the maracas, these recordings capture the energy and spirit of Latin music.

The Big Drum Dance of Carriacou

https://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/bibliographic_entity|recorded_cd|71633?account_id=14971&usage_group_id=94847

Music of Haiti: Vol. 2, Drums of Haiti

https://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/bibliographic_entity|recorded_cd|71800?account_id=14971&usage_group_id=94847

3. Native American Drumming: Explore the spiritual and ceremonial aspects of Native American drumming. These recordings provide insight into the role of drums in Native American culture and rituals.

Honor the Earth Powwow: Songs of the Great Lakes Indians

https://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/bibliographic_entity|recorded_cd|1754527?account_id=14971&usage_group_id=94847

American Warriors: Songs for Indian Veterans

https://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/bibliographic_entity|recorded_cd|1754542?account_id=14971&usage_group_id=94847

4. Drumming traditions from other world regions:

Hawaiian Drum Dance Chants: Sounds of Power in Time

https://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/bibliographic_entity|recorded_cd|73039?account_id=14971&usage_group_id=94847

Drumming Traditions of Kerala

https://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/bibliographic_entity|recorded_cd|367314?account_id=14971&usage_group_id=94847

5. Therapeutic Drumming: Explore these additional resources from Alexander Street:

Drumming and Wellness for Adults

https://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/bibliographic_entity|video_work|3364737?account_id=14971&usage_group_id=94847

After Action, Season 2, Episode 7, Art & Healing

https://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/bibliographic_entity|video_work|5599528?account_id=14971&usage_group_id=94847