LibGuides: Historical Primary Sources Databases: Ethnicity and diversity

Introduction to ethnicity and diversity page

While many of the databases on this guide can provide insight into questions related to the history of ethnicity and diversity in different time periods and locations, the databases on this page are more focused, with many of them providing the perspective of specific ethnic groups.

Broad collections

American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922 This link opens in a new window
Digitized books, pamphlets, graphic materials and ephemera held by the American Antiquarian Society exploring the history of slavery and abolition. Cross-search this & other Readex historical collections with Readex AllSearch .

See also our larger database set on the Civil War, slavery, and abolition

Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
Documents highlighting different responses to the challenges of overcoming prejudice, segregation and racial tensions. Includes survey material, interviews, statistics, educational pamphlets, administrative correspondence, and photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes.

Collections relating to specific ethnic groups

Many of these are newspaper or magazine databases, but a few are collections of other types of materials.

Philadelphia Tribune - Historical (1912 - 2001) This link opens in a new window
Search or browse complete full text issues of the oldest continuously published daily black newspaper in the United States.
Black History Records This link opens in a new window
This collection includes Civil War Services records, court records related to the Amistad case, and other sets of documents.
African American Communities This link opens in a new window
Primary source material representing the culture and identity of African American communities primarily in Atlanta, New York, Chicago, and North Carolina.
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-text of United States newspapers covering perspectives on historical events and the cultural history of African Americans during the 19th and 20th centuries. Cross-search this & other Readex historical collections with Readex AllSearch .
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
Historical, full text newspapers, including: The Christian Recorder (1861-1902), The Colored American (1837-1841), Frederick Douglass' Paper (1851-1855; 1859-1863), Freedom's Journal (1827-1829), The National Era (1847-1860), The North Star (1847-1851), Provincial Freeman (1854-1857), Weekly Advocate (1837-1837).
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922 This link opens in a new window
Primary resources on African American history, literature and culture from The Library Company's Afro-Americana Collection. Cross-search this & other Readex historical collections with Readex AllSearch .
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
Manuscripts, maps, atlases, photographs, and drawings and paintings that cover American Indian history, archaeology, voyages, exploration and accounts of early America, the development of cartography, Philippine, Hawaiian, Central, and South American history.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada.
Native American Archives This link opens in a new window
This collection includes Ratified Indian Treaties, Indian Census Rolls from 1885-1940, Frank A. Rinehart's 1898 Native American photographs, plus other document sets, including several sets specific to the Cherokee.
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971 This link opens in a new window
This collection features newspapers from the former Balch Institute of Ethnic Studies and the Historical Society of Pennsylvania. Also available as part of the larger database, America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922. Cross-search this & other Readex historical collections with Readex AllSearch .
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Full-text for more than 300 United States newspapers in Spanish or English. This collection is also available as part of the larger database, America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922. Cross-search this & other Readex historical collections with Readex AllSearch .
Jewish Life in America This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of Jewish communities in America from the arrival of the first Jews in the 17th century right through to the mid-20th century. This collection brings to life the communal and social aspects of Jewish identity and culture, whilst tracing Jewish involvement in the political life of American society as a whole.