Please keep in mind that just about all the collections listed on this page focus on sources that are looking at other countries or regions via an American or British perspective. This is because we only subscribe to databases with documents written in English.
Most of the collections included below are from the vendor Adam Matthew. You can cross search their platform from the link below.
Millions of primary source documents from across the world spanning the 15th - 21st centuries.
These collections cover multiple regions. Some are also included in the groups for more specific regions.
Global resources from the 15th century to the second half of the 20th century including exploration journals and logs, letter books and correspondence, periodicals, official government papers, missionary papers, travel writing, slave papers, memoirs, fiction, children’s adventure stories, traditional folk tales, exhibition catalogues and guides, maps, and marketing posters.
Collection of primary source documents of the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia from 1650-1920.
Primary source materials exploring the history of fifteen major commodities to examine the ways that these have changed the world.
Collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
Primary materials including the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made.
Collection of primary source materials that show how world fairs and expositions shaped culture.
Collection of primary source documents of the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia from 1650-1920.
Collection of primary source documents of the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia from 1650-1920.
Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia.
Collection of primary source materials that show how world fairs and expositions shaped culture.
Collection of primary source materials that show how world fairs and expositions shaped culture.
Primary source material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.
Rare digitized pamphlets of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world published between 1750 and 1929 and held in the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia housed in the Carl A. Kroch Library of Cornell University.
Sources from the School of Oriental and African Studies and the British Library, London: 1793-1980.
A unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings, and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947.
Explores the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947, through the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland.
The Edward Sylvester Morse papers (ca. 1858-1925), document the numerous and valuable contributions made by Morse to the areas of malacology, zoology, ethnology, archaeology and art history through his diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, research files, drawings, manuscripts, publications and teaching materials.
Accounts of English travel abroad from 1550-1850, highlighting the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy. Also covers daily life in the eighteenth century, including everyday issues as transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex. The material also covers European political and religious life, British diplomacy; life at court, and social customs on the Continent, and is an invaluable resource for the study of Europe’s urban spaces.
Collection of primary source materials that show how world fairs and expositions shaped culture.
