LibGuides: Historical Primary Sources Databases: Art and fashion

Introduction to art and fashion page

The databases listed below were selected because they all include a substantial number of images related to art and/or fashion. Other databases appearing on this guide may also be useful, such as some of our newspaper and magazine databases that include images and advertisements. Those can be found on the United States and United Kingdom and British Empire pages.

Art and fashion databases

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Note: You will need to create a personal user account to access Artstor. If you have an existing JSTOR account, you can use that by linking it to Artstor.
Comprehensive database of art images to view, analyze, save for use in presentations. To save/download images you must set up a personal account.
(ARTstor, Inc.)
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new window
While this database covers many aspects of popular culture from 1950-1975, there are numerous images specific to fashion.
Trade Catalogues and the American Home This link opens in a new window
Highlights commercial tastes and consumer trends such as domestic consumerism and life and leisure in America between 1850-1950. includes catalogs from clothing and accessory retailers including Bloomingdale's, Spiegel, Sears, and Abercrombie and Fitch.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete archive of American Vogue, from 1892 to present in high-resolution color images.
Use Advanced Search to search by garment type, designer or brand name and limit to a specific document type or date range.
(ProQuest)