- Library Home
- LibGuides
- Website
- Transformative Education and Social Change
- Scholarly Research
Transformative Education and Social Change
Education Librarian
Education Research in Library Databases
Tips for Using Databases
- Select two to three keywords from your research question.
- Utilize Boolean Operators AND, OR, and NOT to connect your keywords.
- Narrow your search results using database limits, such as publication date, source type, and subject terms.
- Evaluate your search results. Too many? Add more specific keywords and/or database limits. Too few? Use broader or fewer keywords. You can also try searching in another database.
- Repeat. Research is a cycle; you will likely need to move through these steps more than once to find sources.
Databases
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowEducation Source contains the largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals providing scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties.
(EBSCOhost) - ERIC This link opens in a new windowFull-text documents for a variety of source types including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more. In addition, it provides an education-specific thesaurus that includes controlled vocabulary to help users find what they need.
(EBSCOhost) - SAGE Journals This link opens in a new windowSearch all Sage journals and access articles we have a subscription to.
(Sage)
- Diversity DatabasesLinks to the variety of databases from WCU Libraries that cover topics such as race, gender, and disability.
Measurement Tools
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new windowComprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments including information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership.
Note: Actual test instruments not included.
Also available in print: FHG Library, Reference Collection, Ref 016.1539 M549
(EBSCOhost) - Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new windowHaPI provides primary & secondary material on behavioral measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, rating scales, tests, coding schemes, and projective techniques) in the health and psychosocial sciences.
(EBSCOhost)