LibGuides: Poster Printing at West Chester University Library IMC: Images

Inserting Images into Posters

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire YouTube video on inserting images into posters.

This 4 minute video covers the following topics as they relate to images:

How to choose
Image Resolution
Image Re-sizing
Searching for high res images in google
Copyrright issues
Citing
Cropping
Rotating

These instructions are applicable to both PowerPoint & Publisher users.

Inserting Charts into Posters

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire YouTube video on inserting charts into posters using data from Excel.

This 3 minute video covers the following topics as they relate to charts in research posters:

How to prepare the data in excel
Creating chart
Formatting
Labeling

These instructions are applicable to both PowerPoint & Publisher users.

Find Images Online

When ever using free items from these sources you must cite the artist, if provided, and the source.

MorgueFile
The morguefile contains photographs freely contributed by many artists to be used in creative projects by visitors to the site. To acknowledge the artist's accomplishments, they ask that you credit the photographer when possible.
Created by Michael Connors as a college student in 1996. It is currently a collaborative effort between brothers Kevin Connors and Michael Connors, with Johannes Seemann.
Wikimedia Commons
Includes audio, video, and other multimedia files. Users can choose from multiple images sizes when downloading, and each image is often accompanied by information about the work depicted as well as copyright information.
Flickr: The Commons
A public photo collection that began in 2008 as a collaboration between Flickr and the Library of Congress. It has since expanded to include the collections of over 45 institutions, including NASA, the Imperial War Museum, and the New York Public Library.
Photobucket
Burst
Burst is a free stock photo site that is powered by Shopify. All the photos on the site are offered under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license, which means you’re welcome to use the photos for any purpose.

Licensed Databases with Images

A&AePortal This link opens in a new window
Books in the fields of art and architectural history published by The Art Institute of Chicago, The MIT Press, Yale University Press, Harvard Art Museums, and the Yale University Art Gallery.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Note: You will need to create a personal user account to access Artstor. If you have an existing JSTOR account, you can use that by linking it to Artstor.
Comprehensive database of art images to view, analyze, save for use in presentations. To save/download images you must set up a personal account.
(ARTstor, Inc.)
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Find long encyclopedia entries on artists and topics in art.
NOTE: There is a limit of 8 concurrent users. Please Logout when you have finished your work.
(Oxford University Press)
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete archive of American Vogue, from 1892 to present in high-resolution color images.
Use Advanced Search to search by garment type, designer or brand name and limit to a specific document type or date range.
(ProQuest)

Attribution

Attribution means:

You let others copy, distribute, display, and perform your copyrighted work - and derivative works based upon it - but only if they give you credit.

Noncommercial means:
You let others copy, distribute, display, and perform your work - and derivative works based upon it - but for noncommercial purposes only.

No Derivative Works means:
You let others copy, distribute, display, and perform only verbatim copies of your work, not derivative works based upon it.

Share Alike means:
You allow others to distribute derivative works only under a license identical to the license that governs your work.