Government Documents Resources: Health and Nutrition

Links to over 100 medical and health-related databases.

Comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.

Searchable database of over 4000 federal and private current medical studies. Information given for each study includes purpose, sponsor, eligibility criteria and contact information. ClinicalTrials.gov currently lists 146,053 studies with locations in all 50 states and in 185 countries.

Drugs@FDA allows you to search for official information about FDA approved innovator and generic drugs and therapeutic biological products. Drugs@FDA contains prescription and over-the-counter human drugs and therapeutic biologicals currently approved for sale in the United States. Drugs@FDA includes discontinued drugs and "Chemical Type 6" approvals.

A compendium of resources on toxic substances and their health effects, from the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry.

Catalog of the world's largest medical library includes references to books, journals and audiovisual materials. Items with electronic equivalents may be hotlinked.

Databases available include Chemical Safety, which allows searching for material about specific chemicals.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. Search is available for publications and data.

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.

From the National Institutes of Health

From the US Department of Health and Human Services. Healthfinder.gov has resources on a wide range of health topics selected from approximately 1,400 government and non-profit organizations.

WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

"The United States Department of Health and Human Services' Office of Global Affairs is the diplomatic voice of the Department of Health and Human Services—we foster critical global relationships, coordinate international engagement across HHS and the U.S. government, and provide leadership and expertise in global health diplomacy and policy to contribute to a safer, healthier world."

This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.

"Girlshealth.gov offers girls reliable, useful information on health and well-being. We cover hundreds of topics, from getting your period to stopping bullies, and from getting fit to preventing sexually transmitted infections. We make our pages clear and fun, and we make sure to answer key questions girls ask. Girlshealth.gov is committed to empowering girls to create strong, positive relationships and happy, healthy futures. Girlshealth.gov was created in 2002 by the Office on Women’s Health, a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. We regularly update our information based on the latest scientific research and use our editorial and review guidelines to ensure accuracy."

(An office of the US Dept of Health and Human Services)

(from the Center for Disease Control)

The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) is a leader in on-line global nutrition information. Located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL) of USDA, the FNIC Web site contains over 2500 links to current and reliable nutrition information.

Food tracker, nutrition info, weight management, physical activity, calories burned trackers, and more.

FoodSafety.gov is the gateway to food safety information provided by government agencies.

Includes the School Breakfast Program, National School Lunch Program, and more.

Provides detailed nutrient information on more than 13,000 foods.

From the US Food and Drug Administration