LibGuides: Business and Economics: Overview

Search Library Catalog

2. E-Z Borrow (web gateway that allows simultaneous searching of over 60 academic library catalogs in Pennsylvania, New Jersey and West Virginia)
3. Worldcat (public site; a global catalog of library collections) and request the book via Inter-library loan (ILL) service.

Database for Specific Research

Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Market research reports for the United States and internationally.
Note: After agreeing to the Conditions of Use, you must sign in to your Personal Profile - or create one. You must use your WCU EMAIL ADDRESS for your profile, but do NOT use your current WCU password, as the Mintel password will not change when your WCU password changes. Once you have signed into your personal profile, you have the ability to download or save reports.
(Mintel Group Ltd.)
Market Share Reporter (e-book) This link opens in a new window
Presents comparative business statistics in a clear, straightforward manner. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources.
(Gale/Cengage)
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Data for company and industry research, both historical and current. Includes data on global publicly-traded companies, as well as domestic and international private companies.
(Mergent, Inc.)
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Access to a vast indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents from over 100 countries and industries. Includes digitized manuals, Ford Equity Research reports, Annual company reports, and the Industry Report Collection.
(Mergent, Inc.)
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Search or browse analyst reports on stocks and funds.
Note: Access is limited to 5 (five) simultaneous users.
Please select "End Session" (top right) when you have completed your research.
(Morningstar, Inc.)
Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new window
Investment research on stocks, the stock market, industries, and the economy.
(Value Line, Inc.)
USA Trade Online This link opens in a new window
Freely available data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data to identify new markets, evaluate existing markets, interpret economic news, perform academic research, as well as analyze domestic and international trade policies. Users can create customized reports and colorful charts detailing international trade data at different levels. Sign up for a free account by clicking on the "Sign Up Now" button.
(U.S. Census Bureau and U.S. Dept. of Commerce)
RKMA Market Research Handbook Series This link opens in a new window
Market data on consumer behavior, entertainment, media, advertising, healthcare, leisure, food, sports, travel and more.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Government Documents and legal history including Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
(HeinOnline)
WestLaw This link opens in a new window
Federal and state legal information including cases, court rulings, the U.S. Code Annotated, Code of Federal Regulations, and the Federal Register. WestLaw also has national and international news as well as company profiles and EDGAR filings and disclosures.
(Thomson Reuters)

Ebook Platforms

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks in many subject areas including all ebrary and EBL ebooks.
Create an Ebook Central account to save, download, view, and share ebooks.
(ProQuest)
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
More than 140,000 ebooks in a broad range of academic subject areas.
Read online or download with your "My EBSCOhost" account.
Need help? See our Ebook Help page.
(EBSCOhost)

Databases for Scholarly Content

Full-text Journal Article Databases

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) - Multidisciplinary database with business focus. Search full-text journals, books, case studies, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and industry, market, and country reports.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) - Full-text access to multi-disciplinary books, journals, conference papers etc.
Emerald Insight - one place to search Emerald journals, books, and case studies. We subscribe to a select number of Emerald journals so some resources will not be available full-text.
Wiley Online Library - Full-text access to subscribed journals and eBooks.
Sage Complete - Full-text access to subscribed journals.
Science Direct Journals - Full-text access to eBooks and peer-reviewed journals related to business, management, accounting, economics, econometrics and finance and other science and social science disciplines.
EconLit with Full Text (EBSCO) - Index and full-text access for economic journals and books.
NBER Working Papers - Index and full-text access to the National Bureau of Economic Research working papers applicable to many discipline.
Annual Reviews - Full-text access to the Annual Review of Economics, Annual Review of Financial Economics, Annual Review of Resource Economics, the Annual Review of Statistics and Its Application, etc.
JSTOR - Full text scholarly journal articles in Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Business, Health and General Sciences from first volume through three to five years from the last complete calendar year (moving wall).

Index Databases

Google Scholar (West Chester University Setup)
Google Scholar-> Settings (clicking three lines at the upper left corner)-> Library Links-> Search West Chester University-> Check the box -> Save; At the search result page, click find it @ WCU to access full-text article.
Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded
Web of Science Core Collection (Web of Science)
Current Contents Connect (Keep tracking of the top business journals and articles and set up alerts for current publications)
Public Administration Abstracts 1984-present

Case Studies

Business & Management Collection (HS Talks) (Lectures and case studies in all subject areas of business including finance, marketing, leadership and more.)
Business Source Complete
SAGE Knowledge Reference

Directories and Reviews

Grant and Funding

PIVOT - A comprehensive database of federal, state, and private sector funding opportunities. Go to the WCU Research & Sponsored Programs page to create a free account, and find training on how to use this valuable resource!

Highlighted Economics & Finance Journals

Highlighted Business Magazines and Journals

Forbes
Fortune
Harvard Business Review (BSC) (see the video tutorial at the bottom of this page)
HR Magazine (BSC)
Stanford Social Innovation Review (BSC)
MIT Sloan Management Review
(Use the “Find an Issue” pull-down menu to get to back issues: Click on an article title and then click the “Download button” to access full text)
Chronicle of Higher Education
Academy of Management Journal (BSC)
Academy of Management Review (BSC)
California Management Review (BSC)
Global Strategy Journal (Wiley)
International Small Business Journal (Sage)
Journal of Accounting Research (Wiley)
Journal of Consumer Research (BSC)
Journal of Human Resources (BSC)
Journal of International Business Studies (Springer Link)
Journal of International Management (Science Direct)
Journal of Management (Sage)
Journal of Management Studies (Wiley)
Journal of Marketing (BSC)
Journal of Marketing Research (BSC)
Journal of Operations Management (Wiley)
Journal of Supply Chain Management (Wiley)
Journal of World Business (Science Direct)
Strategic Management Journal (Wiley)
Strategic Organization (Sage)

(BSC: Business Source Complete)

Film and Videos

Business & Management Collection This link opens in a new window
Lectures and case studies in all subject areas of business including finance, marketing, leadership and more.
(Henry Stewart Talks)
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
Films in all discipline areas. Please check the Library Search for access to specific titles as some films are available from multiple sources. For possible inclusion of films not on the site, contact the Instructional Media Center at LibIMC@wcupa.edu and put Kanopy in the subject line. Films for Distance Education will be given priority consideration.
(Kanopy Streaming)
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Provided by West Chester University to faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students, LinkedIn Learning is a digital library of training videos and tutorials on a variety of technical, business, software, and creative topics. Users must log-in with WCU credentials.
Alexander Street Press - Search All Collections This link opens in a new window
Find streaming audio and video across many disciplines. Create video and audio clips and playlists.
(Alexander Street Press)
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
Docuseek2 contains streaming videos on documentaries and social issues including from Bullfrog Films.
(Docuseek)
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational videos in a wide variety of subject areas.
Create a personal account to save to Playlists or Favorites. Help
(Films Media Group)

Harvard Business Review

Business Librarian

Grace Liu

Email Me

Contact:

Grace Liu, MBA, MSLIS
Business Librarian, Assistant Professor
T: 610-436-2917 | yliu@wcupa.edu

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Economics & Finance, Marketing

Newspapers

Comprehensive

U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest)
Chicago Tribune (1985-current); Chicago Tribune (Online) (2017-current); Los Angeles Times (1985-current); Los Angeles Times (Online) (2017-current); New York Times (1980-current); New York Times Online (1996-current); Wall Street Journal (1984-current); Wall Street Journal (Online) (2010-current); Washington Post (1987-current); Washington Post Online (2016-current);

Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Cover-to-cover full text for 40+ U.S. and international newspapers, including the USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times and The Times (London).
Regional Business News (EBSCO)
Full-text business publications for the United States and Canada.

Specific

New York Times, 1980 - present
New York Times Online, 1996 - present
Wall Street Journal, 1985 - present
Wall Street Journal Online, 2010 - present
Washington Post, 1987 - present
Washington Post Online, 2016 - present
Chicago Tribune, 1996 - present
Chicago Tribune Online, 2017 - present
Los Angeles Times, 1990 - present
Los Angeles Times Online, 2017 - present
Newsweek, 1983 - present
CQ Researcher
Current reports cover a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues.

Historical Newspaper
New York Times - Historical (1851-2013)
Wall Street Journal - Historical (1889-1998)

Local Newspaper
Philadelphia Inquirer

Statistics and Data

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
Digital files of social science research data for a wide range of subjects. This database provides the raw numerical data for secondary analysis.
Note: Please first create a personal My Data account using your WCU e-mail.
(Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Online geographical information database with data on housing, education, mortgage originations, jobs and more. Create custom maps, tables, and reports.
View tutorials for more help:
Creating a Map
Creating a Community Profile Report
(The Reinvestment Fund)
Statistical Abstract of the United States (e-book) This link opens in a new window
Statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
(ProQuest)
RAND State Statistics This link opens in a new window
State-by-state statistics for Business & Economics, Community, Education, Energy & Environment, Government Finance, Health & Socioeconomics, Population & Demographics.
(RAND Corporation)
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Extensive hsitorical statistics of the U.S. such as populations in the colonies, 1610-1780; international trade, 1790-2002; military casualties, 1775-1991.
(Cambridge University Press)
Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Science, social sciences and humanities data studies and data sets from a wide range of international data repositories with connections to published scientific literature.
Browse the Master Data Repository List to discover data sources.
1900 - present
(Clarivate Analytics)