Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If the library cannot provide access to the book you need, you can get it through interlibrary loan. The fastest way to get a book through interlibrary loan is through EZ-Borrow (PALCI). You will need your library ID, the sixteen-digit number on the back of your RAM-e card, to log on. If you have never used the library before, first contact the library circulation desk (610-436-2946) or stop by and ask to have your card activated.
Finding books about dance
Below are examples of subject headings that you might find useful. Note that many of the headings are also subdivided, making it possible to narrow your search. These links search across both the library catalog and various databases. But the results are primarily books, ebooks, DVDs, CDs, and scores. Searching for articles is best done through the Library Search.
Dance and its subdivisions and more narrow terms (e.g., Dance--Study and teaching, Dance--Europe--History, Dancing injuries, Improvisation in dance, Dance--Physiological aspects)
Dancers and its subdivisions (e.g., Dancers--Biography, Dancers--Interviews)
Dance as created by groups of people (e.g., African American dance, Indian dance)
Dance for groups of people or to help people
Headings for types of dance
Headings for choreography
Headings for dance in its social context; for instance:
Headings for stagecraft
Many headings related to theatre and acting may also be useful. See the Theatre guide for suggestions.
Dance reference in print
American plays and musicals on screen : 650 stage productions and their film and television adaptations by
Broadway : its history, people, and places : an encyclopedia by
Concise Oxford dictionary of ballet
Ref 792.803 C744
Music Library Ref 792.8 K77C7
The Grey House performing arts directory
Presser Music Library Reference
International dictionary of ballet
International encyclopedia of dance
Ref 792.62 I61 (6 volumes); also available online without illustrations
The Oxford dictionary of dance by
The Oxford encyclopedia of theatre & performance
Stage directors handbook : opportunities for directors and choreographers
Technical manual and dictionary of classical ballet
Finding books about dance by call number
Call numbers for books about dance are chiefly in two number ranges: 792.8 and 793.3.
You can browse for books about the sociology/anthropology of dance in 306.484 and more specifically in 306.4846.