LibGuides: HIS 400 (Kirschenbaum): The Experience of World War II: Special Collections Resources

Digitized WCU WWII Resources

WCU Student Newspapers
Complete digitized copies of the WCU Student Newspapers from 1892 to 2011. Great resource for student life at West Chester during WWII. Used the advanced search option and search by date range.
WCU Yearbooks
Links to Yearbooks from the 1940's. This provides a glimpse into student life and WCU history during WWII. You can search within a yearbook but not across yearbooks.
WCU Course Catalogs
Undergraduate Course Catalogs for WCU during the 1940s. These provide an insight into the classes and atmosphere on campus during the War. Like the yearbooks you can search within a course catalog but not across them.
WCU Honor Roll
Link to digitized document listing the name of those who served in WWII. Lists students and faculty and their status during the war.
WWII Questionnaires
Collection of completed questionnaires completed under President Charles Swope and Dean Ralph Ricker's guidance. Asked current students about their deployments in WWII. Some students including letters in addition to the completed survey.

WCU Archival Collections

If you are interested in accessing any collections that have not been digitized, please contact Special Collections Librarian Ron McColl at rmccoll@wcupa.edu.

WWII Posters: Collection of propaganda posters created during WWII. Posters are from both sides of the war but many are American "buy bonds" posters.

Trustee Minutes: Minutes of the Board of Trustees for the time period during WWII. Provides a glimpse into decision making during the war.

College Scrapbooks: Scrapbooks including newspaper clippings about the College during WWII.

Photographs: We have many photographs that have not yet been digitized.