Education Librarian
Secondary Resources
- MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for more than 700 popular high school magazines, with extended access to reference books from top educational publishers and presses.
- Textbooks K-12FHG's collection of k-12 textbooks includes high school textbooks in the following subject areas: Algebra, Ancient history, Biology, Chemistry, Ecology, Geography, Geometry, Government, Health, Literature, Math, Physics, US History, and World History.
Standards
- Pennsylvania Standards Align SystemPA's state educational standards, searchable by grade and subject. This webpage also includes resources for instruction planning and assessment.
- National Science Teaching AssociationThis page breaks down the NSTA standards by subject. The website also includes curriculum and classroom resources.
- National Council of Teachers of MathematicsNCTM's Principles and Standards for School Mathematics, including documents for pre k-grade 2 and grades 3-5. NCTM also has a section on classroom resources.
- National Council for Teachers of EnglishNCTE's Standards for the English Language Arts are detailed on this page. The Resources section of their website also includes lesson plans, scholarly research, and groups specific to elementary grades.
- National Council for the Social StudiesThis NCSS webpage explains the 10 themes in their standards. You can click into each theme to learn more about how to use it in early grades.
- National Association for Music EducationStandards for music education as well as resources on adopting state standards, assessment, and checklists.
- National Visual Arts StandardsStandards for visual arts, media arts, dance, music, and theater.
- National Council for Geographic EducationK-12 standards for geography education, with an up to and including fourth grade section. Covers 6 essential elements with 18 knowledge standards.
Video Resources
- Education in Video This link opens in a new window
A valuable source for research-based professional development video resources, Education in Video contains streaming videos developed specifically for training and developing teachers.
- Teaching Channel This link opens in a new window
Videos and courses for aspiring educators, classroom teachers, and education leaders.
- PBS Learning MediaA free digital media service for educational use from public broadcasting and its partners, including NOVA, Nature and Frontline.
- EdutopiaA source shining a spotlight on what works in education. We show people how they can adopt or adapt best practices, and we tell stories of innovation and continuous learning in the real world.