LibGuides: FIN 400 Senior Seminar in Finance Research Guide: Searching Beyond Google

In-Class Exercise

FIN 400 In-class Exercise

Where to Search Beyond Google

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Search full-text journals, books, case studies, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and industry, economic & market reports.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The most reliable database for economic research, EconLit provides full-text for economic journals and books as well as indexing and abstracting for economic journals.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Search or browse full text issues of: Chicago Tribune (1985-current), Los Angeles Times (1997-current), New York Times (1980-current), Wall Street Journal (1984-current) and Washington Post (1987-current).
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Current reports covering a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Search by topic or browse issues to find reports.

Google Scholar (West Chester University Setup)
Google Scholar-> Settings (clicking three lines at the upper left corner)-> Library Links-> Search West Chester University-> Check the box -> Save; At the search result page, click find it @ WCU to access the full-text article.

EBSCO Database Search Strategies

How to broaden the results:

1. Add a new database

2. Search other synonyms

3. Change from default to search full text

How to narrow the results:

1. Add another key concept to the search term

2. Use the Filter function in the left column of the screen to limit your results

How to increase relevancy:

1. Search the keyword in the title

2. Use quotation marks to search for a specific phrase

3. When searching for analytical or argumentative content, consider combining keywords that distinguish itself as an argumentative piece, for example, positive keywords (including opportunities, benefits, advantages, pros, and positive impacts) and negative keywords (including concerns, risks, disadvantages, challenges, and cons).