Student Employment

Come work for University Libraries! The University Libraries is currently accepting applications for student employment opportunities. These part-time jobs are available for those students who are awarded Federal Work Study through the Office of Financial Aid. A variety of positions are available, as described below.

Use Handshake to apply. All open positions can be found under the University Libraries department. If you have any questions about work study student employment in University Libraries, please contact us at libadmin@wcupa.edu.

Please check back here on a regular basis for more updates regarding our application process and open student employment opportunities. Thank you.

The Innovation Media Center (IMC) provides students with access to materials and services that can supplement classroom learning throughout a variety of disciplines. The IMC also offers production services such as comb binding, lamination and poster printing and circulates equipment and audio-visual materials such as DVDs. Nearby is our extensive education textbook collection, open makerspace area for projects, and a future VR space.  Creativity and an appreciation of movies a plus. 
 
Job duties may include, but are not limited to: 

• Loaning library items to patrons and taking returns 
• Searching the Library catalog to find items for patrons  
• Answering general questions in person and over the phone 
• Referring patrons to other departments as needed  
• Taking requests for services and performing production work
• Using a cash register and handling money
• Straightening bookshelves, shelving Library materials, and shelf reading   
• Getting new library materials ready for borrowing 
• Checking returned equipment for damage  
• Light clerical tasks like filing and data entry 
• Other duties as requested including occasional support for other Library departments

Apply through Handshake here: https://app.joinhandshake.com/jobs/3694671

The ILL Department is responsible for providing library materials to other schools and libraries across the country as well as internationally. The Department also obtains materials for our faculty, students, and staff here at WCU.  We send physical items such as books, CDs, and DVDs all across the country as well as scan journal articles and book chapters for those who need them. This is a part-time job (10 hours per week) for those students who are awarded Federal Work Study through the Office of Financial Aid.  Our office is always busy making sure everyone gets what they need – come join us!

Duties:

• Retrieving and re-shelving Library materials from all service points.
• Scanning and sending electronic journal articles.
• Packaging and sending Library materials to other university, school, and public libraries.
• Opening incoming packages and processing items for WCU student, faculty, and staff.
• Scanning Special Collections materials for various ongoing projects.
• Occasional deliveries to other locations on campus.
• Assisting with ongoing and special projects.

*Library experience is always a plus. Experience with scanners and mail services like UPS are also very helpful.

Apply through Handshake here: https://app.joinhandshake.com/jobs/7691798

This position helps support the five members of the Library Administration team; Dean, Associate Dean, Business Operations Manager, Administrative Assistant and Clerk 3 by doing the various jobs listed below.

• Data entry, reception/answering telephone, typing, proofreading, filing, copying, faxing, scanning, handling mail, and delivering and retrieving materials on campus.
• Updating informational postings on FHG Library bulletin boards.
• Assisting with ongoing and special projects, as needed. Office documents and information require high level of confidentiality.
   

Apply through Handshake here: https://app.joinhandshake.com/jobs/3693738

The Library Help Desk is the first thing you see when you enter the library and the staff there provide a welcoming environment. The desk is where people come to ask questions, request help with library technology, and borrow library materials. This position is a mix of providing customer service at the Library Help Desk and more “behind the scenes” tasks as described below.

Job duties may include, but are not limited to:

Library Help Desk Responsibilities:

• Providing customer service and answering basic questions
• Checking books in and out to patrons
• Updating patron records
• Recording statistics on patron interactions
• Answering the telephone
• Tracking and reporting issues to appropriate staff

Technology Responsibilities:

• Assisting students with printing, computers, software, and other library technology
• Helping maintain library equipment by refilling supplies, e.g., refilling paper and replacing toner

Stacks Responsibilities:

• Shelving books in the stacks
• Performing shelf maintenance and assisting with inventory
• Shifting books as needed
• Library Communication Responsibilities:
• Assisting with outreach through social media and video creation
• Assisting with design and creation of print and digital signage for the library

Apply through Handshake here: https://app.joinhandshake.com/jobs/3717025

Presser Music Library is located in the Swope Music Building and operates as a branch library of University Libraries. The library provides study space, research help, music books/scores/multimedia materials, and much more to students in the Wells School of Music and throughout the wider WCU campus.

Job duties at the Presser Music Library may include, but are not limited to:

• Helping with the organization and shelving of various library materials.
• Assisting the Presser Library staff with various projects including; shifting, shelf reading, physical processing of library materials, etc.
• Staffing the circulation desk and greeting patrons as they enter the library.
• Answering phones and directing inquiries to the appropriate staff members.
• Checking in/out materials to Library patrons, including reserve materials, equipment, technology, laptops. etc.
• Helping with various software and technology/equipment issues, such as connecting students to RamPrint or clearing paper jams.

Apply through Handshake here: https://app.joinhandshake.com/jobs/3720774

Come work for the Serials/Acquisitions dept. at FHG Library! This is a part-time job (10 hours per week) for those students who are awarded Federal Work Study through the Office of Financial Aid.

Job duties may include, but are not limited to:

• Data stamping periodicals.
• Opening mail.
• Shelving and shifting current and bound periodicals in appropriate locations.
• Physical processing of incoming bound materials and periodicals.
• Maintaining and updating usage statistic spreadsheet.
• Physical processing and shelving of documents from the Government Printing Office
• Filing & basic clerical duties
• Special projects; as needed

Apply through Handshake here: https://app.joinhandshake.com/jobs/4844164

The Special Collections department is home to unique collections about history, West Chester University, science, rare books, & more. We assist all WCU students, faculty, staff, alumni, and the general community interested in viewing and researching our collections.

Duties include:

• Organizing and shelving of various Special Collections materials and books
• Completing basic inventory container listings for collections
• Helping to create, research, and install Special Collections and Library exhibits
• Assisting with research, i.e. finding and retrieving materials, creating basic write-ups for reference requests, photocopying and scanning, etc.
• Assisting the Special Collections Technician with various projects including; shifting and moving collections, shelf reading, digitization, data entry, creating social media content to build department outreach, etc.
• Answering telephone inquiries and directing inquiries to proper contact person, taking accurate messages when contact is unavailable

Apply through Handshake here: https://app.joinhandshake.com/jobs/3690676