Can't find the full-text of an article? Submit an ILLiad request through Interlibrary Loan.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service through which materials not owned by the Library may be requested from other libraries. Before requesting material, search the library's catalog to make sure we does not own or have electronic access to what you want.
Remember to narrow your search by:
Choosing Scholarly/Peer-reviewed Journals under the Show Only header.
Under Source Type, choose Articles.
What's An Empirical Article?
Original research articles based on experience and observation (i.e. surveys, scientific experiments, research studies).
Published in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Parts of an empirical article include: Abstract, Introduction, Method, Results, Discussion, and References.
Features quantitative or qualitative data.
Usually long articles with a lengthy bibliography.
Citations and abstracts, with links to some full text, for journals dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Citations and abstracts to international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events.
(ProQuest in collaboration with U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs)
This database focuses exclusively on issues of aging and the population of people aged 50 years and older for social gerontology research. Resources include journal articles, books, and reports.
An essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology, Criminal Justice Abstracts contains full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field covering a wide range of topics.
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia from 1972 to present. Essential subjects covered include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism, gender identity and more.
Online geographical information database with data on housing, education, mortgage originations, jobs and more. Create custom maps, tables, and reports.
View tutorials for more help: Creating a Map Creating a Community Profile Report
(The Reinvestment Fund)
Digital files of social science research data for a wide range of subjects. This database provides the raw numerical data for secondary analysis. Note: Please first create a personal My Data account using your WCU e-mail.
(Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Video collection providing a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens. Includes footage of actual & re-enacted therapy sessions, interviews with professionals, and experts giving advice to counseling professionals about their work. Teaching and discussion guides accompany many of the videos.
(Alexander Street Press)