Ethnic Studies

Biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies chronicling the history and culture of the African American experience through music. Can be cross-searched with other Alexander Street music databases in Music & Performing Arts Online.

Full-text of United States newspapers covering perspectives on historical events and the cultural history of African Americans during the 19th and 20th centuries. Cross-search this & other Readex historical collections with Readex AllSearch.

Historical, full text newspapers, including: The Christian Recorder (1861-1902), The Colored American (1837-1841), Frederick Douglass' Paper (1851-1855; 1859-1863), Freedom's Journal (1827-1829), The National Era (1847-1860), The North Star (1847-1851), Provincial Freeman (1854-1857), Weekly Advocate (1837-1837).

Primary resources on African American history, literature and culture from The Library Company's Afro-Americana Collection. Cross-search this & other Readex historical collections with Readex AllSearch.

Digitized books, pamphlets, graphic materials and ephemera held by the American Antiquarian Society exploring the history of slavery and abolition. Cross-search this & other Readex historical collections with Readex AllSearch.

Full-text searchable Civil War primary sources which include: Part I: A Newspaper Perspective, Part II: The Soldiers' Perspective, Part III: The Generals' Perspective, Part IV: A Midwestern Perspective (Indiana newspapers published 1855-1869), Part V: Iowa's Perspective, and Part VI: Northeast Regimental Histories.

William Lloyd Garrison's weekly abolitionist newspaper, from 1831 - 1865.

The official weekly newspaper of the American Anti-Slavery Society. Search or browse full-text issues from 1840-1870. 

Search or browse complete full text issues of the oldest continuously published daily black newspaper in the United States.

Full-text plays written from the mid-1800s to the present.

Fiction, poetry and essays from three continents, giving views of black women's struggles through time.

Poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries, including rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.

Documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States, including the California Newsreel African American Classics collection.