Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Source Collections
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.
(Gale/Artemis Primary Sources)
Global resources from the 15th century to the second half of the 20th century including exploration journals and logs, letter books and correspondence, periodicals, official government papers, missionary papers, travel writing, slave papers, memoirs, fiction, children’s adventure stories, traditional folk tales, exhibition catalogues and guides, maps, and marketing posters.
Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice
Primary and secondary source materials on the topics of slavery, abolition and social justice from 1490-2007. Includes including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography.
(Adam Matthew Digital)
Early English Books Online
Early English Books (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
The Renaissance is known for artwork, this database holds digitized images of art and architecture.
There are several other primary source databases available to you at WCU. For the complete list check the link below:
General Primary Source Materials at WCU
WCU's Digital Collections
West Chester University's own digital collections. Includes postcards, letters, photographs, and 3D Objects dealing with West Chester University and Chester County history.
WCU's Special Collections and Archives
The Special Collections & Archives contains numerous diverse collections and materials pertaining to WCU and Chester County history. Majority of materials are not available online (those that are are in WCU's Digital Archive) but materials are available for use by appointment.