You can find the full list on the separate Historical Primary Source Databases guide.
Note: Please keep in mind that we purchase/subscribe only to databases where the majority of sources are in English. This means that sources found here are most likely going to represent a British perspective.
Also, what we have covers only the last few hundred years of the HRE.
Comprehensive database of art images to view, analyze, download, or save for use in presentations. To save images you must set up a personal account with JSTOR.
This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) representing the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. For a combined search with other British newspapers, see British Newspapers Search.
Early English Books (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Rare journals printed between 1685 and 1835 covering all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life including colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
Search the full-text of digital images for a wide range of books published from 1701-1800 in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Accounts of English travel abroad from 1550-1850, highlighting the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy. Also covers daily life in the eighteenth century, including everyday issues as transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex. The material also covers European political and religious life, British diplomacy; life at court, and social customs on the Continent, and is an invaluable resource for the study of Europe’s urban spaces.
