You can find the full list on the separate Historical Primary Source Databases guide.
Note: Please keep in mind that we purchase/subscribe only to databases where the majority of sources are in English. This means that sources found here are most likely going to represent a British perspective.
Complete digital edition of The Times (London), searchable by keyword, with views of either an article or the complete page. Includes all articles as well as advertisements and illustrations/photos. For a combined search with other British newspapers, see British Newspapers Search.
Primary sources, including reports of world events, British explorers, business, crime, fashion, theatre and more, many with full page images and illustrations. For a combined search with other British newspapers, see British Newspapers Search.
Portal to a suite of collections sourced from The National Archives, Kew - the UK government's official archive covering the history of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries from the British state’s point of view. Includes: Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980; Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966; Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969; Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969; Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961; Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980; Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980; Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952; Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981; Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963; The Nixon Years, 1969-1974; Women in The National Archives.
Index of books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives from the 19th century.
Global resources from the 15th century to the second half of the 20th century including exploration journals and logs, letter books and correspondence, periodicals, official government papers, missionary papers, travel writing, slave papers, memoirs, fiction, children’s adventure stories, traditional folk tales, exhibition catalogues and guides, maps, and marketing posters.
If you are interested in British imperialism, we also have a number of small collections of British documents (part of the larger Archives Direct Collections) tied to specific regions. These can be found on the on my Historical Primary Sources Databases guide world page.
Contains color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th, and early 20th century London.
Multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line that charts scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts. Includes the papers of Nightingale and Fleming.
Nineteenth century primary source collection, including: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music & Literature: High & Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection.
Primary and secondary source materials on the topics of slavery, abolition and social justice from 1490-2007. Includes including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography.
Collection of materials representing popular culture during the Victorian era. Includes: spiritualism & magic; circuses, sideshows & freaks; music halls, theatre, & popular entertainment; and moving pictures.
Global resources from the 15th century to the second half of the 20th century including exploration journals and logs, letter books and correspondence, periodicals, official government papers, missionary papers, travel writing, slave papers, memoirs, fiction, children’s adventure stories, traditional folk tales, exhibition catalogues and guides, maps, and marketing posters.
Primary source materials exploring the history of fifteen major commodities to examine the ways that these have changed the world.
Primary materials including the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made.
Collection of primary source materials that show how world fairs and expositions shaped culture.
