Informed Success: A Bibliography for Student Entrepreneurs

Discover why being a "fast second" is often more financially rewarding than being at the cutting edge. If you get there first, you'll lead the pack, right? Not necessarily! The skill-sets of most established companies, say strategy experts Constantinos Markides and Paul Geroski, are far better suited to scaling up newly created markets pioneered by others (in other words, being "fast seconds") than to creating these markets from scratch. In Fast Second, they explore the characteristics of new markets, describe the skills needed to create and compete in them, and show how these skills match up with different types of companies. Drawing on examples of successful fast-second firms such as Microsoft, Amazon, Canon, JVC, Heinz, and many others, they illustrate how to determine which new markets have the potential to be successful and how to move into them before the competition does, when to make a move into a new market, how to scale up a market, where to position a company in the market, and whether to be a colonizer or a consolidator. Order your copy today!

Facebook, PayPal, Alibaba, Uber--these companies have upended entire industries by harnessing a single phenomenon: the platform business model. Platform Revolution delivers the first comprehensive analysis of how platforms match producers and consumers in a multi-sided marketplace, unlocking hidden resources and creating new forms of value. Platform Revolution explores the what, how and why of this revolution and provides the first "owner's manual" for creating a platform marketplace. It provides the essential guide to unlocking the potential of an economic landscape transformed.

In food product development, as in all new product development, time is money. This is the first book that describes and explains food development from the point of view of the consumer rather than from the top down approach. Innovative development starts with the consumers and makes use of new disrupting technologies to describe the process. Combining research from experienced and international top quality contributors, it defines the more nuanced development solutions that are becoming available. It includes case studies from around the world that consider aspects of consumer behaviour as well as consumer responses to market research. Aimed at all those involved in new product development, e.g. marketing personnel, food engineers and manufacturers as well as food scientists, this book will provide a fascinating insight into this exciting area of research.

The pharmaceutical industry is extremely complex, and so are the inner workings of the pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies operating within it. Even the most seasoned industry professionals may find it difficult to understand the activities of, and interdependencies among, all key functions within a pharmaceutical or biotechnology company. Yet this knowledge is crucial when the responsibilities for--or repercussions of--key initiatives ripple across an organization.

Understanding Pharma is a must-read for anyone in the pharma/biotech sector--those new to the industry, industry veterans, and specialized experts working in or serving the industry.
Gain an understanding of the inner workings of each functional area in the typical company.
Learn the interdependencies among functional areas and how they affect the company's strategic goals.
Understand how each functional area impacts the company's financial success.

The Understanding Pharma book and 10-module e-course series have been incorporated into the on-boarding and professional development programs of numerous leading pharmaceutical and biotech companies, as well as university curricula for students preparing for careers in the industry. Two full printings of the first edition--more than 5,000 books--have sold out.

This third edition provides key updates to content, including a new Medical Affairs chapter and new content related to the distinctive issues and requirements surrounding biopharmaceuticals. There are also major updates to the Managed Markets and Trade and Distribution chapters. Key data points have been revised throughout the book to maintain currency.

Topics covered in the book include:
The global scope of the pharmaceutical industry
Typical pharmaceutical company structure
Customer groups supply and demand drivers
Pharmaceutical product lifecycle
Drug Discovery
Drug Development
Business Development
Marketing
Sales
Managed Markets
Manufacturing
Distribution

Each function-specific chapter explains:
The role of that functional area in fulfilling the pharmaceutical company s mission
The impact of that functional area on company profitability and strategic vision
Key activities within that functional area

Understanding Pharma is an ideal resource for professionals in a wide variety of careers, including:
Sales
Marketing
Market Research
Medical Affairs
Business Development
Training
Contract Research
Medical Education
Advertising
Public Relations

Students preparing for careers in the pharmaceutical industry will also find it extremely effective in orienting them to their chosen field, and the industry as a whole.

Be sure your team has what it takes to succeed in this competitive environment. Understanding Pharma will provide the practical knowledge they need. Also be sure to check out the companion book, Lingua Pharma, the first comprehensive glossary of industry-related terms.Understanding Pharma is an introduction to how pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies actually work, from both a scientific and a business standpoint.

This comprehensive guide takes first-time entrepreneurs through every step of founding a life science company. It covers all the business basics that we aren't taught in science and engineering courses. This book is based on interviews with hundreds of life science entrepreneurs and offers a blueprint of how a clinician, scientist, engineer or student could found a successful life science company. It runs through how to decide whether your science can be commercialized, intellectual property protection, regulatory hurdles, how to find the right co-founders, how and when to incorporate, how to write product development, marketing and business plans, and how to pitch your startup to investors. If you want to found a biotech, medtech, digital health or healthcare company, this book will give you the basics you need and give you templates on how to structure your company, write your product development plan, marketing plan and pitch deck. It also contains a glossary of the basic business terms you will need to know to speak with investors, mentors and advisors. Founding a life science company gives you the chance to change the health and lives of millions of people around the world. This sort of dream is why many of us studied science or medicine in the first place. First-time entrepreneurs have a steep learning curve. It takes an exorbitant amount of hard work to found and run a company. It is a rollercoaster ride, with exhilarating highs and devastating lows. You have to convince yourself and the world that you are creating something of value, a product or service that will solve a big problem. But for natural entrepreneurs, the challenges that come with starting a company are thrilling. Every day is different. Every day you are solving problems, meeting goals and climbing the mountain towards first revenue or a successful exit. This book was written to make that climb a little easier.

This book gives advice on how to start, grow and exit a software company. My advice is based on over 23 years of starting, running and exiting two very successful international software companies. The book covers set-up, first steps, hiring, firing, growth, culture, development culture, the Agile Methodology, offshoring development, selling to the USA, selling to Europe, software licensing, patent trolls, marketing, sales, partnerships, venture capital investors, bootstrapping, the analyst game, professional advisors and the exit process. In short, it’s a brain dump which I hope some people will find useful and which will support the next generation of entrepreneurs. So, what do you get for your money? A comprehensive practical handbook for software entrepreneurs which covers the entire journey from starting the business to exit, taking in venture capital along the way. In fact, a beta reader (the Managing Partner of a growth accelerator) described it as: "detailed and complete - more so than any other book or content on the web I have seen, and I have done quite a bit of research over the last 4-5 years". It's not only for start-ups. Another beta reader, the CEO of a relatively mature organic growth software company, told me: "To be honest, I've looking for something like your book for a while now so when I read it, it was a kind of "that's it" moment". He went on to explain that it helped him think about what his company was doing and made him question whether they should try some different approaches.

This second edition of Biotechnology Entrepreneurship: Leading, Managing, and Commercializing Innovative Technologies is an authoritative, easy-to-read guide covering biotechnology entrepreneurship and the process of commercializing innovative biotechnology products. This best practice resource is for professional training programs, individuals starting a biotech venture, and for managers and experienced practitioners leading biotech enterprises. It is a valuable resource for those working at any level in the biotech industry, and for professionals who support and provide essential resources and services to the biotech industry. This practical, "how-to" book is written by seasoned veterans experienced in each of the operational functions essential for starting, managing, and leading a successful biotech company. Biotechnology Entrepreneurship explains the biotech business components and underlying strategies, interspersed with practical lessons from successful biotech entrepreneurs, educators, and experienced practitioners. These veteran contributors share their insights on how to be successful in this challenging but exciting industry. Subjects range from technology licensing and translating an idea into a viable business, forming your legal company entity, securing angel and venture capital, navigating product development, FDA regulatory approval, and biomanufacturing. This book is a user-friendly guide to decision-making and overall strategy written as a hands-on management tool for leaders and managers of these dynamic biotechnology ventures. If you are contemplating starting a biotech company, are a manager at any level, a seasoned veteran, or service provider in the biotech industry, this book is a "must read."

The tech sectors are the least understood portion of the healthcare system, but the ones that supply most of the innovation in healthcare services and generate most revenue. Fully updated for this third edition, The Business of Healthcare Innovation is a wide-ranging analysis of business models and trends in the tech sectors of the healthcare industry. It provides a thorough overview of and introduction to the innovative sectors that fuel improvements in healthcare: pharmaceuticals, biotechnology, life science startups, medical devices and information technology. For each sector, the book examines the trends in scientific innovation, the science behind that innovation, the business and revenue models pursued to commercialize that innovation, the regulatory constraints within which each sector must operate and the growing issues posed by activist payers and consumers. From a combination of academic and industry perspectives, the authors show why healthcare sectors are such an important source of growth in any nation's economy.

Create breakthrough services, products, and business models Innovating in Healthcare offers effective approaches for designing, reworking, and implementing innovative healthcare services, products, and business models. It will help anyone working in healthcare service or product development, from hospitals to startups, to question the status quo in healthcare and implement new solutions that lower costs while increasing both quality and access. Globally, healthcare faces a threefold crisis of unsustainable economics, erratic quality, and unequal access. Just in the U.S., healthcare accounted for 18% of the 2017 GDP and will likely reach nearly 20% by 2025, while hospital-induced deaths have skyrocketed, and tens of millions of people remain uninsured. This book will focus on creating the innovations in healthcare that can meet these needs. Written by the world's leading authority on healthcare innovation Includes success stories in every segment of the health care sector Presents and applies the Six Factors in the environment that critically affect healthcare innovation Guides the reader through tailoring a business plan specifically for the new business Designed for healthcare executives, providers, and degree students, Innovating in Healthcare is a comprehensive guide for maximizing the viability of a new healthcare product, service, or business.

THE BOOK THAT'S REVOLUTIONIZING HEALTH CARE IN AMERICA A groundbreaking prescription for reform-- from a legendary leader in innovation. "Clear, entertaining, and provocative, The Innovator's Prescription should be read by anyone who cares about improving the health and health care of all." Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, MD, President and CEO, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

"Comprehensive in its vision, astute in its diagnosis, and clear in its guidance, The Innovator's Prescription offers strong medicine for a heath care system that is far from well." --Harvey V. Fineberg, MD, President, Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation

Our health care system is in critical condition. The Affordable Care Act has insured more Americans than ever, yet deductibles keep rising and costs continue to climb. Now more than ever, the industry needs a shot in the arm. It needs The Innovator's Prescription, the now-classic approach to efficient, affordable health care. Learn how to:
* Deliver personalized care at a lower cost with "precision medicine"
* Improve quality, accessibility, and affordability using a disruptive business model
* Enable better treatment of chronic diseases through patient networks
* Diagnose problems and find solutions faster using new technology
* Take advantage of insurance and regulatory reforms to provide the best care possible

Technology-as-a-Service Playbook defines the tactical and strategic plays technology companies must run to build a profitable subscription business. Whether you are a pure-play cloud company or a traditional technology provider making the pivot to the cloud, this book will help guide your decision-making and execution around the "as-a-service" model to put your company on a path to profitable growth. This cloud-driven journey will affect every part of the organization. How offers are designed, built, marketed, sold, and serviced will all need to change. And these transformations are not limited to OEMs--they will also directly impact the vast network of channel partners. After all, it's not just about building recurring revenue, it's about building PROFITABLE recurring revenue. Technology-as-a-Service Playbook is the road map to the next-generation tech business model.

Break your revenue records with Silicon Valley's "growth bible" "This book makes very clear how to get to hyper-growth and the work needed to actually get there" Why are you struggling to grow your business when everyone else seems to be crushing their goals? If you needed to triple revenue within the next three years, would you know exactly how to do it? Doubling the size of your business, tripling it, even growing ten times larger isn't about magic. It's not about privileges, luck, or working harder. There's a template that the world's fastest growing companies follow to achieve and sustain much, much faster growth. From Impossible to Inevitable details the hypergrowth playbook of companies like Hubspot, Salesforce.com (the fastest growing multibillion dollar software company), and EchoSign--aka Adobe Document Services (which catapulted from $0 to $144 million in seven years). Whether you have a $1 billion or a $100,000 business, you can use the same insights as these notable companies to learn what it really takes to break your own revenue records. Pinpoint why you aren't growing faster Understand what it takes to get to hypergrowth Nail a niche (the #1 missing growth ingredient) What every revenue leader needs to know about building a scalable sales team There's no time like the present to surpass plateaus and get off of the up-and-down revenue rollercoaster. Find out how now!

All You Need to Know About the Music Business by veteran music lawyer Don Passman--dubbed "the industry bible" by the Los Angeles Times--is now updated to address the biggest transformation of the music industry yet: streaming. For more than twenty-five years, All You Need to Know About the Music Business has been universally regarded as the definitive guide to the music industry. Now in its tenth edition, Donald Passman leads novices and experts alike through what has been the most profound change in the music business since the days of wax cylinders and piano rolls. For the first time in history, music is no longer monetized by selling something--it's monetized by how many times listeners stream a song. And that completely changes the ecosystem of the business, as Passman explains in detail. Since the advent of file-sharing technology in the late 1990s to the creation of the iPod, the music industry has been teetering on the brink of a major transformation--and with the newest switch to streaming music, this change has finally come to pass. Passman's comprehensive guide offers timely, authoritative information from how to select and hire a winning team of advisors and structure their commissions and fees; navigate the ins and outs of record deals, songwriting, publishing, and copyrights; maximize concert, touring, and merchandising deals; and how the game is played in a streaming world. "If you want to be in music, you have to read this book," says Adam Levine, lead singer and guitarist of Maroon 5. With its proven track record, this updated edition of All You Need to Know About the Music Business is more essential than ever for musicians, songwriters, lawyers, agents, promoters, publishers, executives, and managers--anyone trying to navigate the rapid transformation of the industry.