Transfer Student Resources

Borrowing books we don't have

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service for WCU students, faculty, and staff that gets you a book, article, or other material not available at West Chester University Libraries. We work with libraries around the world to get you this material.

For more information and to request a book or article, visit our ILL page: https://library.wcupa.edu/ill

Library Catalog

Our library catalog is now integrated into the same system (Library Search) that brings back articles, but you can still search just the catalog, if you want.  The search box below is customized to do that. 

Or, you can limit to books after you've searched by looking for source types in the left hand column.

Textbooks on Reserve

You may be able to borrow textbooks and other recommended course readings for short periods. To check the availability of a book, log into course reserves through D2L or search here.

What Do I Need to Check Out Reserve Materials?

Bring your valid Ram Card or driver's license.

Is There a Priority List for Checking Out Reserve Materials?

No, we check out reserve material on a first come, first served basis. We do have an ad hoc wait list that we will use in the case of very popular materials.  If an item is out when you come to look for it, you can leave us your name, the book title, and your phone number or email address and we'll try to contact you when the item is returned.  You'll have fifteen minutes to pick it up, or it will be returned to the shelf or moved to the next person waiting. 

How Long Can I Check Out Reserve Materials For?
Your professor sets the check out period.  When you check out the material, you'll be told that the check out period is either: ​

  • 3 hours
  • Overnight

Summary of Borrowing Privileges

Loan Type Loan Period Renewals Late Fees
General Book Collections 35 days 1 $.25/day ($25.00 max); $1.00/day if recalled
New Book Collections 35 days 0 $.25/day ($25.00 max); $1.00/day if recalled
Children's Collections 14 days 1 $.25/day ($25.00 max); $1.00/day if recalled
IMC DVDs, Videos, CDs, & Films 7 days 1 $1.00/day
IMC Laptops 2 hours None $.10/minute
IMC Equipment 3 days None $3.00/day
Reserve Books 3 hours (standard), overnight If no one is waiting $1/hour
Presser Music Library Books Scores, CDs, LPS 35 days 1 $.10/day ($5.00 max); $1.00/day if recalled
Presser Music Library DVDs 7 days 1 $1.00/day
ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan) Varies (determined by lending library) Determined by lending library Determined by lending library
EZ Borrow 84 days 0 Determined by lending library

If an item is lost, damaged, or stolen, replacement fees may apply.

Our borrowing policies are available online.

Loan Type Loan Period Renewals Late Fees
General Book Collections 6 months 1 n/a
New Book Collections 35 days 0 n/a
Children's Collections 14 days 1 n/a
IMC DVDs, Videos, CDs, & Films 7 days 1 n/a
IMC Equipment 3 days 0 $3.00/day
Reserve Books 3 hours (standard), overnight If no one is waiting n/a
Presser Music Library Books, CDs, LPs, and Scores 6 months 1 n/a
Presser Music Library DVDs 6 months 1 n/a
ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan) Varies (determined by lending library) Determined by lending library Determined by lending library
EZ Borrow 84 days 0 Determined by lending library

If an item is lost, damaged, or stolen, replacement fees may apply.

Our borrowing policies are available online.

Loan Type Loan Period Renewals Late Fees
General Book Collections 35 days 0 $.25/day ($25.00 max); $1.00/day if recalled
Children's Collections 14 days 0 $.25/day ($5.00 max); $1.00/day if recalled
Reserve Books Library Use Only n/a n/a
Presser Music Library Books, CDs, LPs and Scores 35 days 1 $.25/day ($25.00 max); $1.00/day if recalled
Presser Music Library DVDs 7 days 1 $1.00/day

If an item is lost, damaged, or stolen, replacement fees may apply.

For information about getting a WCU library card, see our borrowing policies.

West Chester University   ---    WCU Libraries  25 West Rosedale Avenue, West Chester, PA 19383  610-430-4400