Library Search not Working? Try a Database
Looking for Journal Articles? Try:
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts, with links to some full text, for journals dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and high quality sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
One of the best places to start your research in any discipline!
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events.
(ProQuest in collaboration with U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs)
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
This database focuses exclusively on issues of aging and the population of people aged 50 years and older for social gerontology research. Resources include journal articles, books, and reports.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
An essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology, Criminal Justice Abstracts contains full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field covering a wide range of topics.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia from 1972 to present. Essential subjects covered include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism, gender identity and more.
Looking for Data/Statistics? Try:
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Online geographical information database with data on housing, education, mortgage originations, jobs and more. Create custom maps, tables, and reports.
View tutorials for more help:
Creating a Map
Creating a Community Profile Report
(The Reinvestment Fund)
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
Digital files of social science research data for a wide range of subjects. This database provides the raw numerical data for secondary analysis.
Note: Please first create a personal My Data account using your WCU e-mail.
(Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
RAND State Statistics This link opens in a new window
State-by-state statistics for Business & Economics, Community, Education, Energy & Environment, Government Finance, Health & Socioeconomics, Population & Demographics.
Looking for Videos? Try:
Counseling and Therapy in Video (Vols. I, II, and III and V) This link opens in a new window
Video collection providing a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens. Includes footage of actual & re-enacted therapy sessions, interviews with professionals, and experts giving advice to counseling professionals about their work. Teaching and discussion guides accompany many of the videos.
(Alexander Street Press)
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational videos in a wide variety of subject areas.
Create a personal account to save to Playlists or Favorites. Help
(Films Media Group)
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos in the areas of counseling and therapy as well as tools and manuals for use in instructional settings.