Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIN 411 Seminar Linguistics (Cabrera)

A research guide for Bilingualism Research in Spanish.

Interlibrary Loan

When searching the library's databases, you may find articles you want that we do not have access to.  You can get them for free through a service called interlibrary loan, and it usually only takes one or two days. 

From a database:

1.  Instead of a link to a PDF below the article, you will see a link called check availability.

2.  If we have the full text,the page that opens will provide a link under the "View It" heading. 

3.  If we don't own the full text, you can access our interlibrary loan system for articles, called ILLiad, by logging into the system using your WCU email address and password.  Look for the link on the yellow bar in the middle of the page.

4. Once you log in, you will see the link to go to ILLiad.

5. If it is your first time logging into the system, it may ask you some questions about your delivery preferences.

6. The system will try to fill in the required blanks with the relevant information about the article.  Double check to make sure that all the required blanks are filled.  If not, go back to the tab with the article info to cut and paste the other required info.

 

From Library Search:

Finding Articles from a Bibliography

a) type or copy/paste the title of the article into the search box.  If it has a very long title, you don't need the whole thing, just enough to make it distinctive.  If we have access to it, it should pop up in the first 5 or so results.

b) now use the full text link to get to the full article.

c) If it doesn't show up, we probably don't have access.  Next, try clicking on the "Expand the Results Beyond My Library" link at the top of the left-hand column. 

d) If it shows up now, you can use the "no full text" link to use ILLiad to get it.  Remember that you may have to sign into the system before you will see the interlibrary loan options. 

e) If it still doesn't show up, you can still try to request it via ILLiad, you will just need to enter everything manually.

 

Finding Books from a Bibliography

This is very similar to finding articles, just a couple of tweaks needed to make it work better!

a) Type or copy/paste the name of the book into the Library Search Box.  If it is a shorter title, put it in quotation marks.

b) For books, the results can be confusing, because often a bunch of book reviews will show up!  So, go to the left-hand column under Source Type and select "books". 

c) If it shows up, check to see if it is online or in print.

d) If it doesn't show up, then follow steps c, d, and e as you would for articles (above).  The only difference is that you will use EZ-Borrow to request the books instead of ILLiad.

West Chester University   ---    WCU Libraries  25 West Rosedale Avenue, West Chester, PA 19383  610-430-4400