Did you know that you can get posters printed at the library? The IMC on the lower level of Green Library has a high quality poster printer and low fees for printing. See their page on poster printing for details, as well as lots of great tips on what to do (or not do) on your poster!
1) Generate search terms for your topic in both Spanish and English.
2) Remember to think about using synonyms/related terms. For instance, if you are working on the benefits of being bilingual in the workplace, other words that could be used for workplace are jobs, employment, or business.
3) Review the list of databases and descriptions below and pick at least two databases to try that match aspects of your topics. One should almost always be Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts.
4) Start by searching for articles in Spanish using your Spanish search terms. You will likely get far fewer results as our databases have a strong English language focus for scholarship. Look in the left hand column of the database for a Language menu where you can select Spanish.
5) Now switch it over to looking for articles in English. Make sure you undo the limit for Spanish! You will likely find a lot more materials and may need to make your search more specific at this point to narrow things down.
6) While searching try a trick called truncation. Truncation means cutting a word down to the stem and then adding an * (asterisk) to the end. It tells databases to search for all forms of the word. So typing in bilingual* will search not only for bililngual, but also bilingualism. If you cut it down all the way to biling*, you will also be including the Spanish word bilingue.
7) Try cross searching several databases at once! Many of the databases below come from the same vendor-- EBSCOhost. After you log into one, look for a link that says Choose Databases right above the search boxes. You can use that to add other databases from the list that apply and search them all at once!
Bilingualism is important to and studied in many contexts, so you will find articles in many different databases. Please read the descriptions of the databases below to help you find the ones that best match your research topic.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis is not a comprehensive list of our databases! If none of these match up with your topics well, please email me your topic and I can advise on databases for other subject areas!
If you are not finding enough, you can also try our library search tool, which cross-searches all these databases and many more.
Step 1: First identify an article that we don't have full text
Step 2: Once in ILLiad, check to see if the autofill worked correctly.
Step 3: Then scroll down to submit the request.
Step 4: When the article arrives, you will get an email. Log back into ILLiad to download the PDF.
You can find books via the search box on library homepage.
There are a couple of different approaches to trying to find the full-text of articles or books from citations you find in bibliographies.
Type the title or other info from the citation into the library search tool. This approach allows you to check in one place for both articles and books.
You can set up google scholar (see video below) to talk to the WCU Libraries to make finding full text of articles easy. But it doesn't work for books, so those still need to be checked through Library Search or the catalog.
But, Google Scholar will alllow you to do Citation Indexing at the same time as tracing sources.
While bibliography tracing always takes you further back in time, citation indexing lets you go forward in time by seeing who has cited an article after it was published. Google scholar is a clear best bet for citation indexing in any humanities field, as it pulls from both journal articles and books.
