LibGuides: Linguistics: Library Resources

Finding Articles

Core Databases

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This is our primary database for linguistics. It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World This link opens in a new window
Find, read about, and research the world's 7,099 known living languages.

Databases for other subject areas that also cover linguistics.

ComDisDome This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Our primary database for Communication Science and Disorders, ComDisDom has many sources relating to the intersection of linguistics with hearing and speech impairment.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is a broad database that covers not only language and linguistics, but also literary criticism, film, rhetoric and composition, and teaching language and literature. It's focus areas for linguistics are: history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, syntax, and translation
For more help, watch the library's MLA tutorials on:
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Our largest education database, Education Source has sources pertaining to the teaching of language, linguistics, and English as a second language.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Our main database for Sociology will have many articles on sociolinguistics topics.

Library Search

If you are working on a topic that crosses disciplines, you may want to try our Library Search tool. It pulls back articles from all the databases listed above, plus will also include books and ebooks from our collection.

If you aren't familiar with Library Search, this quick tutorial will help you get started.

Finding Books

Books and ebooks will come up automatically anytime you search in Library Search, but the search box below is set search just the library catalog for books and media.

Catalog Search Box

Select Reference Books

The following are a selection of recent reference works on linguistics, many of which are available online.

Dictionary of American Regional English (ebook)
ISBN: 067420512X
This dictionary provides definitions and background on words, phrases, and pronunciations particular to different regions of the United States. You can either search for a term or browse by state or region.
Atlas of North American English (ebook)
ISBN: 3110167468
Publication Date: 2005
This atlas details American regional variation in phonetics, phonology, and sound change
Raciolinguistics (ebook)
ISBN: 0190625694
Publication Date: 2016
Linguistic Diversity and Social Justice: An Introduction to Sociolinguistics (ebook)
ISBN: 0199937265
Publication Date: 2016
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics (ebook)
ISBN: 1405152974
Publication Date: 2008
Routledge Handbook of World Englishes (print book)
Call Number: Green Library, Third Floor General Collection 427 R869
Publication Date: 2010
Oxford Handbook of African American Language (print book)
Call Number: Green Library, Third Floor General Collection 427.973 O98
Publication Date: 2015