Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Eastern Religions Defined
At the risk of being very Eurocentric, Eastern Religions are those religions historically associated with the Eastern Hemisphere. This includes Hinduism, Buddhism, Confucianism, to name a few.
Eastern Religion Websites
Below is a list of useful websites for traditionally Eastern Religions. Many of the links are to research guides similar to this one at other universities or colleges so you may not have access to their databases but you can request materials like books and journal articles via Interlibary Loan.
I have indicated under each link which Religion(s) are represented in the website.
Religions: Buddhism and Hinduism
Includes religious artwork and iconography as well as information on the Bon, Buddhism, and Hindu religions. You can browse by region or religion.
Asian for Educators: Primary Sources with DBQs
Religions: Confucianism, Buddhism, and Daoism,
Part of an initiative of the Weatherhead East Asian Institute at Columbia University. Broken down by Asian countries and then by time period.
Website contains an audio, image, video, and ebook library of Buddhist works.
Resources for the Study of Buddhism
A guide to resources on the web for the study of Buddhism. Compiled by Professor Ron Epstein while teaching at San Fransisco State University.
Internet Indian History Sourcebook
Sources in Hindu from Fordham's Internet Medieval Sourcebook.
Hindu Sacred Texts
From the Sacred Text Archive, these are links to sacred Hindu texts.
An entry in the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy, a peer-reviewed academic encyclopedia. The article provides basic information on Hinduism. The references are perhaps the most beneficial part of the entry as they are divided into primary and secondary sources.
Taoism Primary Sources
Taoist Texts in Translation
An article by Louis Komjathy at Boston University on the scarcity and difficulty of finding primary source documents on Taoist philosophy.