LibGuides: Criminal Justice: CRJ 366 Databases

How to Search for Scholarly Articles

Use the LIBRARY SEARCH BOX (above) to search for scholarly articles.

Type in keywords/phrases.
- Example research question: School-to-prison pipeline as it pertains to youth with mental health and/or developmental disabilities.
- Example keywords to search: school to prison pipeline mental health
Before looking at your results, login to your library account with your WCU email address and password (top right corner).
Narrow your results on the left side bar.
- Under Show Only, click on Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Journals.
- If needed, refine by date (Tip: you need to click the Refine button).
- Under Source Type, click on Articles.
- Under Subject, click on Show More. Then either click on one subject term OR check off multiple and hover at bottom of column to see green Apply Filter button (Tip: it's hidden until you hover over it).
- Still too many results? Limit by Subject again, change original search terms, or browse through results for additional/different keywords.

Specialized Databases

EBSCO databases

You can search multiple EBSCO databases at once! Click on the Choose Database link above the first search box.

Using the previous research question example, I might choose: Criminal Justice Abstracts, Social Work Abstracts, Health Source, and Child Development and Adolescent Studies.

AgeLine This link opens in a new window
This database focuses exclusively on issues of aging and the population of people aged 50 years and older for social gerontology research. Resources include journal articles, books, and reports.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
An essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology, Criminal Justice Abstracts contains full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field covering a wide range of topics.
Health Source: Nursing and Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Full text access to scholarly journals covering many medical disciplines.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts, with links to some full text, for journals dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

Other Specialized Databases

Counseling and Therapy in Video (Vols. I, II, III, and V) This link opens in a new window
Video collection providing a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens. Includes footage of actual & re-enacted therapy sessions, interviews with professionals, and experts giving advice to counseling professionals about their work. Teaching and discussion guides accompany many of the videos.