Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
Online Reference Books
CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
Reference resources in chemistry.
(CRC Press/Taylor and Francis)
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (e-book) This link opens in a new window
Covers chemical industry and allied fields with chemical technology information for litigation or patent support.
(John Wiley & Sons, Inc. e-book)
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
Reference work covering the entire range of life sciences research. Includes peer-reviewed articles written by international experts in their fields.
(Wiley Online Library e-book)
SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more!
Users must first REGISTER HERE
- After registering you will receive an email confirmation with your personal SciFinder username and password. Now that you have your username/password, enter the database.
- At the SciFinder Sign In, enter your SciFinder username/password - and there you are!
Other WCU Subscription Databases
Analytical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Current awareness and information retrieval service for analytical scientists, covering 1980 to present.
(Royal Society of Chemistry)
Chemical Hazards in Industry This link opens in a new window
Health and safety issues for all sectors of the chemical industry.
Laboratory Hazards Bulletin This link opens in a new window
From the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Natural Product Updates This link opens in a new window
Graphical abstracts of new developments in natural product chemistry.
Web of Science Core Collection (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
-Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1984- )
-Science Citation Index Expanded (1984- )
-Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1984- )
-Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990- )
-Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990- )
-Book Citation Index– Science (2005- )
-Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005- )
-Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015- )
-Current Chemical Reactions (1985- )
-Index Chemicus (1993- )
Current Chemical Reactions This link opens in a new window
From Thomson Reuters.
Synthetic Reaction Updates This link opens in a new window
Current abstracts on recent developments in synthetic organic chemistry.
(Royal Society of Chemistry)
Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Science, social sciences and humanities data studies and data sets from a wide range of international data repositories with connections to published scientific literature.
Search the Master Data Repository List
to discover data sources.
1900 - present
Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
Value-added patent information from Derwent World Patent Index as well as patent citations from Patents Citation Index
1963 - present
Index Chemicus This link opens in a new window
A chemical index from Thomson Reuters.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
One of the best places to start your research in any discipline!
Current Contents Connect This link opens in a new window
Current awareness database that provides access to complete tables of contents, abstracts, bibliographic information, and abstracts from the most recently published issues of leading scholarly journals, as well as from more than 7,000 relevant, evaluated websites. Search, browse by journal, or set up content alerts.
ASTM Standards in Forensic Sciences
ASTM Complete Standards and Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Includes ASTM Volume 14.02 General Test Methods; Forensic Psychophysiology; Forensic Sciences; Terminology; Conformity Assessment; Statistical Methods; Nanotechnology; Forensic Engineering; Manufacture of Pharmaceutical Products