Tips for using the databases
Ideas
Defining Gender
Original British source material from a gendered perspective in history, literature, sociology and education.
(Adam Matthew)
Gender Studies Database
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia from 1972 to present. Essential subjects covered include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism, gender identity and more.
(EBSCOhost)
Gender: Identity and Social Change
Primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present covering women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
(Adam Matthew)
LGBT Studies
Award-winning films, documentaries, interviews, and archival footage exploring the social, cultural, and political evolution of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day (Alexander Street Press)
SocINDEX with Full Text
A comprehensive and high quality sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
(EBSCOhost)
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Documents & images centered on the history of women in United States social movements. Includes a dictionary of social movements & organizations, a chronology of U.S. Women's History and teaching tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions.
(Alexander Street Press)
Women and Social Movements International, 1840 - present
Primary materials including the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made.
(Alexander Street Press)
Gender and Sexuality in the Workplace by 
Integral Voices on Sex, Gender, and Sexuality by 
The Handbook of Language, Gender, and Sexuality by 
Keywords for Gender and Sexuality Studies by To browse for physical books head to the 4th floor and look in the following Dewey range areas:
Complied below are specific resources looking at topics related to gender & sexuality studies. Popular data sources such as The Pew Research Center, Census Data, Human Rights Campaign, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) are searchable by theme/topic.
Compiled by the House Clerk, various tables about women in Congress. Includes a full list of all female representatives and senators by Congress and by state; committee assignments (by committee); female committee chairs; women of color; and more. 1917-present.
Research center at Rutgers providing scholarly research and current data about American women’s participation in politics and public life, including figures on turnout, candidate recruitment, women of color, and public office holders.
Links to a few compilations of major surveys with questions about LGBT orientation and identity.
ICPSR data archive providing datasets for the comparative analysis of issues affecting various minority populations in the United States, including LGBT populations.
List of data sources from our Data and Statistics catalog with a focus on sexual attitudes and behavior. As many of these come from ICPSR, there's a fair amount of overlap with the RCMD.
Datasets hosted in the Murray Research Archive of Harvard University on the topic of sexuality.
LGBTData.com LGBTData.com serves as a no-cost, open-access clearinghouse for the collection of sexual orientation & gender identity data and measures.
Focused on documenting and preserving the history of New England's LGBTQ communities.
Fully downloadable report from the Royal Historical Society with links to reading lists and other sites and a separate download of data from the report.
The archive of the International Gay Information Center, along with other related archives donated to the library. Contains documents, photographs, art, postcards, and much more.
This web archive captures digital content related to LGBTQ+ political candidates and political issues and topics at various levels of government, with a focus on lesser-known local and state politics.
Web archive that collects and preserves online content which documents LGBTQ+ history, scholarship, and culture in the United States and around the world.
"Preserving history and encouraging scholarly study of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender religious movements around the world."
"Documenting the history of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer content in games."
From the Providence Public Library: "a community archives initiative to collect and provide access to the current and past stories of LGBTQ+ people in Rhode Island. We are focused on ensuring the preservation of materials chronicling the social, cultural & political history of RI LGBTQ+ people and organizations."
"Amplifying the voices of those fighting against long histories of patriarchal dominance, the South Asian Gender and Sexuality Web Archive documents and preserves the work of activists, grassroots organizations, and social justice movements committed to promoting the visibility and experiences of LGBTQAI+ people and women in South Asia and its diasporas." Curated by librarians from the Ivies Plus Libraries Confederation.
Website of the national organization whose mission is "to end suicide among gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer & questioning young people." The site also includes educational materials for school curricula.
Where Love is Illegal "documents and captures personal testimonies of survival from the LGBTQI+ community around the world."
Web archive of broad range of websites maintained by and for the benefit of LGBTQ+ communities. These sites document news, events, and issues and provide information about seeking assistance.
West Chester University office for Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion
The West Chester University Office for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Collection is divided into four series: Affirmative Action, Correspondence, Events, and Policies and Procedures.
American Association of American Women- West Chester branch
The American Association of University Women (AAUW) West Chester - Chester County Branch records are divided into four series: Administrative Materials, Correspondence, Events, and Publications.
