LibGuides: ENG 400 (Sorisio): Primary Sources

Newspaper and magazine databases

Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Covers, at least in part, the life spans of Winnemucca, Lee, and Atwood. Wilde also is mentioned quite a few times.
Exact coverage dates are:
-Chicago Tribune, 1849-1992
-New York Times, 1857-2008
-Philadelphia Tribune, 1912-2001
-Wall Street Journal, 1889-1994
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window
This newspaper database covers 1690-1922, and has a lot more local/regional papers. Unlike the ProQuest database, the coverage from many papers is short and spotty. Covers lifespan of Equiano and Schoolcraft, plus also Winnemucca.
British Newspapers Search This link opens in a new window
Combined search for The Times (1785-2007), Sunday Times (1822-2006) and 17th-18th Century Burney Collection.
So, a great place if your topic is Equiano or Wilde, or to see if American authors received coverage in the British press.
American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900 This link opens in a new window
Magazines, rather than newspapers. Covers 1740-1900. Covers same authors as America's Historical Newspapers.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections, Series 1-5 This link opens in a new window
Another very large collection of historical American magazines. Covers 1684-1912.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
The modern equivalent of the historical ProQuest newspaper database. Will cover Petty and reviews of more recent adaptions (like with Atwood).

Book reviews

A) For older works, I would search directly in the applicable historical newspaper and magazine databases listed above.

B) Library Search

Library Search is especially good for reviews of more recent books (and movies, plays, music, and games).

You can limit to reviews on the left.

C) Literature Resource Center

This database is a bit hit and miss on reviews. You are most likely to find some on more modern works, but I've also had luck sometimes finding full-text reviews of 19th century books.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
To find reviews, first search for the author, then look for the Reviews and News link near the top of the page, under the search box.

D) Book Review Digest

A place to go to find reviews of books published during the fist three quarters of the 20th century.

Book Review Digest Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Excerpts from and citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction from 1903 to 1982.