Click on these subject headings below to browse for scores of specific types of music:
Head to Presser and browse the scores on our shelves under these call numbers:
781.62........Sight Singing
782.1..........Opera Libretti and Stories
782.14……..Musicals
782.2..........Operas, Operettas, Music Comedies
782.8..........Cantatas
782.84........Collections of Cantatas
782.9..........Miscellaneous forms of Dramatic Music (Masques, Melodramas,
Pantomimes, etc. – also Incidental Music)
783.............Collections of Masses
783.2..........Masses
783.24........Canticles
783.27........Requiems, Te Deums, Stabat Maters, Magnificats, etc. (i.e., Liturgical
Hymns and Music)
783.3..........Oratorios, Passions, etc.
783.4..........Motets, Anthems
783.5..........Chants
783.58........Sacred Songs
783.6..........Christmas Carols
783.9..........Hymns
784.1..........Madrigals, Chansons, Part-Songs, Rounds (1 composer)
784.15........Collections of Madrigals, Chansons, Part-Songs, Rounds
784.2..........Choral Works
784.25........Collections of Choral Works
784.3..........Songs – Art Songs, etc. (also Duets)
784.33........Collections of Songs (also Duets)
784.35........Concert Arias
784.39........Collections of Concert Arias
784.4..........Folk Songs and Dances [language notation to class]
784.459......Political Songs
784.6..........Community Songs (including College and University Songs)
784.683......Children’s Songs
784.7..........National Anthems and Songs (both collections and singles)
784.8..........Vocal Ensembles (Trios through Nontets)
784.85........Collections of Vocal Ensembles
784.9..........Popular Music (Songs, etc.)
784.95........Popular Music (Historical)
784.99........Singing Methods and Exercises
Check out these bibliographies to find more vocal music. See something you'd like to play or study? Ask us to order it.
Choral Repertoire by
Choral Repertoire is the definitive and comprehensive one-volume presentation of the canon of the Western choral tradition. Designed for practicing conductors and directors, students and teachers of choral music, amateur and professional singers, scholars, and interested vocal enthusiasts, it is an account of the complete choral output of the most significant composers of this genre throughout history. Organized by era (Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, Romantic, and Modern), Choral Repertoire covers general characteristics of each historical era; trends and styles unique to various countries; biographical sketches of over 500 composers; and performance annotations of more than 5,000 individual works. This book will be an essential guide to programming, a reference tool for program notes and other research, and, most importantly, a key resource for conductors, instructors, scholars, and students of choral music.
Exploring Twentieth-Century Vocal Music by
The vocal repertoire of the twentieth century--including works by Schoenberg, Boulez, Berio, Larsen, and Vercoe--presents exciting opportunities for singers to stretch their talents and demonstrate their vocal flexibility. Contemporary composers can be very demanding of vocalists, requiringthem to recite, trill, and whisper, or to read non-traditional scores. For singers just beginning to explore the novelties of the contemporary repertoire, Exploring Twentieth-Century Vocal Music is an ideal guide.Drawing on over thirty years of experience teaching and performing the twentieth century repertoire, Sharon Mabry has written a cogent and insightful book for singers and voice teachers who are just discovering the innovative music of the twentieth century. The book familiarizes readers with thenew and unusual notation systems employed by some contemporary composers. It suggests rehearsal techniques and vocal exercises that help singers prepare to tackle the repertoire. And the book offers a list of the most important and interesting works to emerge in the twentieth century, along withsuggested recital programs that will introduce audiences as well as singers to this under-explored body of music.
From Studio to Stage by
The repertoire files of the late Dr. Barbara Doscher, in which she noted her tips, observations on each particular piece, and notes on how to best teach it, comprise a unique trove of wisdom unmatched by any other source. Laboriously transcribed and annotated by John Nix, one of Doscher's students, the notes are presented here as a companion volume to her best-selling text, The Functional Unity of the Singing Voice. Entries are divided by broad category (art song, arias, folk songs, oratorio, musicals, etc.) and are arranged by song title. Each entry includes author, poet or librettist, key(s) available, ranges (for each key), tessitura, difficulty level, voice types, comments, a summary of the text, and notes as to genre, language, and editions available. Five comprehensive indexes facilitate searching. As a guide to selecting vocal repertoire, this book's practical and sometimes colorful comments on each song or aria will assist the vocal instructor in matching the student's ability and range to the appropriate piece. This distillation of Barbara Doscher's many years of experience in the teaching studio is a necessary addition to any vocal instructor's collection, as well as a valuable resource for the individual singer.
The Madrigal: A Research and Information Guide by
The Madrigal: A Research and Information Guide is the first comprehensive annotated bibliography of scholarship on virtually all aspects of madrigal composition, production, and consumption. It contains 1,237 entries for items in English, French, German, and Italian. Scholars, students, teachers, librarians, and performers now have access to this rich literature in a single volume.
Music for the Voice, Revised Edition by
Sergius Kagen's encyclopedic guide to music for the voice has been a standard reference work for singers and teachers for nearly 30 years. For each of several thousand works, the singer can find the compass and tessitura, the vocal type to which the song is suited, as well as remarks on the character or challenges of the piece, with occasional advice to the accompanist. Headnotes give general information on some major composers and important song cycles. This single volume helps the performer find works by hundreds of composers from Europe and America, from the Renaissance through the mid-20th century, and genres ranging from folk airs to bel canto. Entries are arranged by composer within larger categories: Songs and Airs before the 19th Century, Songs of the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries, Folk Songs, and Operatic Extracts. An index of composers makes access to listings even easier.
The Singer's Repertoire by
A timeless classic. Includes 8,200 songs in 818 lists for nine voice classifications; indexed by composer, title, vocal range, and publisher. The complete work represents the living song repertoire of today drawn from recital programs, recordings, broadcasts, telecasts, and other sources, and is comprised of Part I: Coloratura, Lyric and Dramatic Soprano, Part II: Mezzo Soprano and Contralto, Part III: Lyric and Dramatic Tenor, and Part IV: Baritone and Bass. Paperback editions of Parts I & II now available. Paperback editions of Parts III and IV available December 2005.
Vocal Repertoire for the Twenty-First Century, Volume 1: Works Written Before 2000 by
An insightful and practical interpretive guide to contemporary repertoire assembled by celebrated soprano Jane Manning. This first volume of the two-volume set covers works composed prior to the year 2000.
Vocal Repertoire for the Twenty-First Century. Volume 2: Works Written from 2000 Onwards by
An insightful and practical interpretive guide to contemporary repertoire assembled by celebrated soprano Jane Manning. This second volume of the two-volume set covers works composed from 2000 onwards.
Women Composers: A Checklist of Works for the Solo Voice by