On trial through March 31, 2020.
This database has a ton of world news sources, including ones published in South Africa. Coverage from the last 10 years is strongest, though there are also some older sources.
Search tips: after you start a search, scroll down the column on the left and find location. First limit to Africa, then to South Africa to get local news.
This database will have articles about South Africa, but written from an American Perspective. Only fairly big name people, events, etc. will get coverage. Includes the NY Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and LA Times.
Want to know more about the history around a specific South African event? This is the database for that.
Search Tips: Remember that books are better for giving you an overview of a historical period. This database is going to be stronger for looking up a specific person, thing, event, program, etc.
This database includes scholarly articles on topics related to politics, government, non-government organizations, humanitarian issues, and international relations.
Search Tips: This database includes country reports for South Africa going back to about 2009. These substantial reports cover political, economic, and social issues.
This is a search I set up for books in our catalog about South Africa limited to the last 10 years. Some may be good for background information about South Africa's history, government, culture, and more.
Library Search cross searches a big percentage of our holdings, especially scholarly journal articles. But the single search box doesn't allow for very sophisticated searches, which is why I put it last.