If you want to go beyond the MLA and education databases, the next step would be searching via our Library Search tool, which cross searches the majority of our scholarly journal holdings, plus more.
When searching the library's databases, you may find articles you want that we do not have access to. You can get them for free through a service called interlibrary loan, and it usually only takes one or two days.
1. Instead of a link to a PDF below the article, you will see a link called check availability.
2. If we have the full text,the page that opens will provide a link under the "View It" heading.
3. If we don't own the full text, you can access our interlibrary loan system for articles, called ILLiad, by logging into the system using your WCU email address and password. Look for the link on the yellow bar in the middle of the page.
4. Once you log in, you will see the link to go to ILLiad.
5. If it is your first time logging into the system, it may ask you some questions about your delivery preferences.
6. The system will try to fill in the required blanks with the relevant information about the article. Double check to make sure that all the required blanks are filled. If not, go back to the tab with the article info to cut and paste the other required info.
The three journals devoted to research on writing centers are Writing Center Journal, Praxis: A Writing Center Journal, and WLN.
Citations from all three journals are included in the MLA International Bibliography (with PDFs for certain years), which is a good reason to always include that database when cross searching. In some cases, you will need to go to directly to the journal website to get full text.
Full text
