Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 295 (Fletcher)

Databases for scholarly journal articles

Help videos:  You can find videos on using the MLA International Bibliography here

Help videos:  Find videos about using America:  History and Life here.

Still need more secondary sources?  Library search will pull from databases across many disciplines, but digging through its results can take a lot of time.  Starting your research in books and the databases above will usually save you time.

Interlibrary Loan

When searching the library's databases, you may find articles you want that we do not have access to.  You can get them for free through a service called interlibrary loan, and it usually only takes one or two days. 

From a database:

1.  Instead of a link to a PDF below the article, you will see a link called check availability.

2.  If we have the full text,the page that opens will provide a link under the "View It" heading. 

3.  If we don't own the full text, you can access our interlibrary loan system for articles, called ILLiad, by logging into the system using your WCU email address and password.  Look for the link on the yellow bar in the middle of the page.

4. Once you log in, you will see the link to go to ILLiad.

5. If it is your first time logging into the system, it may ask you some questions about your delivery preferences.

6. The system will try to fill in the required blanks with the relevant information about the article.  Double check to make sure that all the required blanks are filled.  If not, go back to the tab with the article info to cut and paste the other required info.

 

From Library Search:

West Chester University   ---    WCU Libraries  25 West Rosedale Avenue, West Chester, PA 19383  610-430-4400