LibGuides: WCU Digital Collections: Letters of General Anthony Wayne

Letters

Click on the link to view the digitized letters.

Autographed Letters of General Anthony Wayne
The Letters of General Anthony Wayne Collection includes letters written by individuals such as Generals Washington, Arnold, Gates, Putnam and Schuyler.
The letters were given by Anthony Wayne´s son Isaac to the Chester County Athenaeum, a literary association organized in West Chester in 1827. Later they became a part of the collection of the Chester County Cabinet of Natural Science, and when the West Chester Normal School was opened in 1871, they became the property of the School.

Access

The Letters of General Anthony Wayne Collection is housed in the West Chester University Special Collections and Archives on the sixth floor of F.H.G. Library. It is recommend that you use the digital copies online. Please contact the Special Collections Librarian for more information if you are interested in accessing the physical collection.

Rights Statement

Digital images in University Libraries' Digital Collections are issued by Special Collections, Francis Harvey Green Library, West Chester University. Images are provided for non-commercial, educational, and personal use only, and are not intended for reproduction or redistribution. For the above purposes the user may reproduce these materials (by download, printing, etc.) without further permission, on the condition that proper attribution of the source for all copies is provided by clearly acknowledging the name of the Library, the title of the web page or resource and the URL at which it was located, please credit as follows: Special Collections, Francis Harvey Green Library, West Chester University, West Chester, Pennsylvania. For questions regarding use of digital materials contact Special Collections (libspeccol@wcupa.edu or 610-436-3456). Special Collections assumes no responsibility for direct, indirect, consequential, or incidental infringement of copyright by content users.