LibGuides: Anthropology and Sociology: Sociology

Professional Organizations

Databases

In addition to the specialized databases listed below, also see more general multidisciplinary databases such as:

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and high quality sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of a broad range of subjects relevant to sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, social and cultural structure and more.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia from 1972 to present. Essential subjects covered include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism, gender identity and more.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Digital files of social science research data for a wide range of subjects with the raw numerical data for secondary analysis. Note: Please first create a personal My Data account using your WCU e-mail.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Access to all Annual Review journals that are part of WCU Libraries' subscription.

SocArchxiv
Open archive of social science papers

Primary Source/Historical Collections

Advertising America This link opens in a new window
Documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The papers show many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche.
African American Communities This link opens in a new window
Primary source material representing the culture and identity of African American communities primarily in Atlanta, New York, Chicago, and North Carolina.
Defining Gender This link opens in a new window
Original British source material from a gendered perspective in history, literature, sociology, and education.
International Historical Statistics, 1750-2010 This link opens in a new window
Key economic and social indicators for the 260-year time period.
Mass Observation Online This link opens in a new window
Original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organization, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features that study the everyday lives of ordinary people in Britain from 1937 until the mid-1950s.
Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new window
Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia.
Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
Documents highlighting different responses to the challenges of overcoming prejudice, segregation and racial tensions. Includes survey material, interviews, statistics, educational pamphlets, administrative correspondence, and photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes.