Theatre: Performances

A Research Guide for Theatre from West Chester University Libraries

Featured videos

Videos in the library

The library has a very large VHS/DVD collection which includes many filmed stage productions and films based on plays. The collection is housed in the Instructional Media Center on the first floor of the library. Filmed musicals may also be found in the Presser Music Library.

There are many films, VHS or DVD, on the subject of theatre as well.

Use the library catalog to see if the library owns a video of a play or documentary.

  • Enter your search terms (the name of the play, director, actors, etc.), use the drop-down menu to select Catalog, and hit the Enter key.
  • On the left of the screen, under Source Type, click on Audio Visual.
  • Further limit the search depending on whether you want a DVD or an online version. On the left of the screen, chose Available in the Library under Show Only if you want a DVD. If you want to watch a production online, chose Full Text Online.
  • Sometimes you will see CDs or LPs in your results list. If you are looking for a physical item, scroll down to the bottom of the leftmost column and chose IMC DVD Collection under Location). If you are looking for a production online, you can use the icons to quickly scan the list.
  • You can also click on Browse at the top of the screen and do an author search for specific playwrights, actors, directors, etc. Enter the person's name in last name, first name order. Click on the person's name in the list. From that results list, you can use the limits on the left to narrow your search as above.

 

Streaming video

The library provides access to more than 250 performances and theatre documentaries in streaming video through Theatre in Video. From off campus, choose West Chester from the drop-down list of universities, and log in with your campus username and password.

Three screen sizes are available. The mid-size screen gives the best results for most viewers. Once logged in, for technical requirements, click on Help and choose Compatibility/Overview. Please email me if there are any problems.

Once logged in, there are a number of ways to search for specific productions (e.g., by title, playwright, director, actor). Clicking on Productions under the Browse menu provides an alphabetical list by title of all productions. Clicking on Documentaries under the Browse menu provides an alphabetical list by title of all documentaries.

Theatre in Video productions and documentaries can also be found in the library catalog. This search will bring up a list of most of the productions.

The library also offers performances and theatre/dance documentaries in streaming video through Films on Demand. From off campus, choose West Chester from the drop-down list of universities, and log in with your campus username and password. Scroll down to English & Language Arts, click on View All Titles, and then scroll down to and click on Drama and the Theater. You can search within this group or within the entire database by keyword. By the end of this semester, Films on Demand titles should be in the library catalog.

And be sure to check out Digital Theatre Plus, which has both filmed stage productions and interviews with performers, designers, directors, etc.

 

West Chester University   ---    WCU Libraries  25 West Rosedale Avenue, West Chester, PA 19383  610-430-4400