Skip to Main Content
Recommended web sites
Addiction resources for American communities.
American Hospital Directory
Provides data and statistics about more than 6,000 hospitals nationwide, including free and fee-based options.
ATSDR Toxic Substances Portal
Access the most important information about toxic substances and how they affect our health, from the Agency for Toxic Substances & Disease Registry.
Brain Science Podcast
Podcasts that feature discoveries in neuroscience through interviews with scientists and discussions of recent books.
Search case reports in over 200 peer-reviewed journals from BioMedCentral.
CDC WONDER (Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research) brings together all of the epidemiological data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention into one search interface.
Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy
An initiative of the Academic Health Center at the University of Minnesota whose purpose is to provide current information about the public health response and preparedness for emerging infectious diseases.
A registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world; a service of the U.S. National Institutes of Health.
Comparative Toxigenomics Database
The Comparative Toxicogenomics Database (CTD) elucidates molecular mechanisms by which environmental chemicals affect human disease, from the Mt. Desert Island Biological Laboratory.
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics
Harvard’s “open collection” contributes to the understanding of the global, social–history, and public–policy implications of diseases and offers important historical perspectives on the science and the public policy of epidemiology today
County Health Rankings
From the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.
Dartmouth Atlas of Healthcare
For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
A noncommercial, evidence-based, consumer health and drug information site dedicated to empowering consumers to make informed choices about drugs and treatment options
A comprehensive Web site database featuring extensive information about thousands of different medications and drugs currently on the market or previously available worldwide, from the Peterson Firm, LLC (personal injury law firm).
Emergency and Disaster Preparedness for Special Populations
Internet resources from many agencies organized by the National Library of Medicine
Environmental Health and Medicine Education
Offers free environmental health and medicine education products for health professionals, community members, and interested members of the public, provided by CDC's Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATDSR)
Environmental Health Perspectives
A monthly journal of peer-reviewed research and news on the impact of the environment on human health with free online content
Genes and Disease
A collection of articles that discuss genes and the diseases that they cause, from the National Library of Medicine
Genetics Home Reference
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variation on human health. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Global Health Observatory
A portal to online health data and analysis provided by the World Health Organization.
Medical images and information provided as a service of Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
A nonpartisan research institution dedicated to bioethics and the public interest since 1969
Health and Environmental Research Online (HERO)
HERO contains the key studies EPA uses to develop environmental risk assessments for the public.
A federal government Website managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services with information about recent health care legislation.
Health news and information from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Interactive global disease alert map
Health News Review.org
Provides reviews of media stories covering therapeutic claims.
History of Medicine
From the National Library of Medicine
HIV/AIDS Surveillance Data Base
Database of HIV prevalence and incidence rates maintained by the U.S. Census Bureau and funded by the U.S. Agency for International Development.
International Classification of Diseases, 9th Revision (ICD-9)
Maintained jointly by the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
Intute: Health and Life Sciences
Medical pages of Intute, a free online service providing you with access to the very best web resources for education and research, evaluated and selected by a network of subject specialists
Online health information from a reputable source
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
A deep web search portal to health information from scholarly medical collections, from Deep Web Technologies.
Medpedia is applying a new collaborative model to the collection, sharing and advancement of medical knowledge that, over time, will produce the world's most comprehensive resource.
NAHIC: National Adolescent Health Information Center
A national resource for adolescent health information and research with the goal to assure the integration, synthesis, coordination and dissemination of adolescent health-related information.
NNLM RD3: Resources for Data-Driven Discovery
The National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NNLM) supports access to biomedical and health information with the goal of making data discoverable, accessible, and citable. NNLM RD3: Resources for Data-Driven Discovery has been developed to foster learning and collaboration in data science.
National Cancer Institute
Cancer information from the main cancer research institute of the National Institutes of Health
National Center for Health Statistics
A rich source of information about America's health from the Nation's principal health statistics agency.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A one-stop repository of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines created by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services).
Open-i: Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
A search engine for finding freely available biomedical images, from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Profies in Science - National Library of Medicine
This site celebrates twentieth-century leaders in biomedical research and public health. It makes the archival collections of prominent scientists, physicians, and others who have advanced the scientific enterprise available to the public through modern digital technology.
Free Internet search engine for health practitioners
Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States
Stanford Health Library
Sponsored by Stanford Hospital & Clinics, provides scientifically-based medical information to help people make informed decisions about their health and health care.
Tox Town provides consumer-level information on everyday locations and situations where you might be exposed to toxic chemicals. This site will help you better understand risks of exposure, potential health effects, and how to protect yourself. From the U.S. National National Library of Medicine.
TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork) is a network of databases related to toxicology, environmental health, hazardous chemicals, and similar disciplines created and maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
U.S. National Library of Medicine: Digital Collections
The National Library of Medicine's free online archive of biomedical books and videos.
United Nations Sustainable Development Goals
The Sustainable Development Goals are a call for action by all countries – poor, rich and middle-income – to promote prosperity while protecting the planet. They recognize that ending poverty must go hand-in-hand with strategies that build economic growth and addresses a range of social needs including education, health, social protection, and job opportunities, while tackling climate change and environmental protection.
Quality consumer health information
World Health Organization
The directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system