Women's and Gender Studies

This comprehensive, two-volume work examines domestic abuse in the United States and worldwide, providing research, personal stories, and primary documents that reveal the extent of the problem.

Provides basic consumer health information about violence, stalking, harassment, and other forms of abuse, and discusses the physical, mental, and social effects of violence against intimate partners, children, teens, the elderly, immigrants, and other populations; gives strategies for prevention and intervention. Includes index, glossary of related terms and directory of resources.

Interpersonal violence is behavior that intentionally threatens, attempts, or actually inflicts harm on another. This violence invades both the public and private spheres of our lives; many times in unexpected and frightening ways.

Offering current research and reflections on violence against women, the resource provides extensive coverage of the current state of research, theory, prevention, and intervention regarding violence against women. Also available in hard copy, 3rd edition: 4th floor, 362.8292 S726 ©2018

Child abuse, sexual and domestic violence are among the most destructive experiences afflicting women and children. The wide prevalence of such violence takes an enormous toll on the lives of individual victims as well as the larger society, through innumerable behavioral, health, psychological, and economic consequences. Authors examine the efficacy of medical and psychological treatments for victims, families, and perpetrators, as well as justice system responses to various forms of child abuse, sexual violence, and domestic violence. The editors present an integrative conclusion that provides a sound foundation for future responses across practice, research, advocacy and policy, at the local and national level.

The most up-to-date global perspective on how women are living today across continents and cultures

This set is both a history of the global women's rights movement and an expert analysis of where that movement is and should be heading in the future. Also available in hardcopy: 4th floor, 305.42 F329ppa

In the post-9/11 world, governments are using the threat of terrorism to justify tightening national security and restricting basic human rights. This timely book addresses the implications of this trend, revealing human rights inequities from nation to nation and the consequences of these inequities worldwide. Vividly illustrated with colorful maps and charts, The Atlas of Human Rights charts both the progress and limitation of free expression and media censorship. It displays the areas that are beset with wars, conflict, migration, and genocide; details the geographic status of sexual freedom, racism, religious freedom, and the rights of the disabled; focuses on women's rights, sex slavery, and the rights of the child. Also available in hardcopy: 4th floor, 323 F151

Gender, Violence, and Human Security takes a critical look at notions of human security and violence through a feminist lens, drawing on both theoretical perspectives and empirical examinations through case studies from a variety of contexts around the globe. This fascinating volume goes beyond existing feminist international relations engagements with security studies to identify not only limitations of the human security approach, but also possible synergies between feminist and human security approaches. It analyze specific case studies from around the globe, ranging from post-conflict security in Croatia to the relationship between state policy and gender-based crime in the United States. The book ultimately calls for addressing the structural issues that give rise to violence.

Rape is one of the most under-reported crimes in the U.S., and yet it is one of the most vicious, devastating, and violent of all crimes. But getting justice for victims has not always been easy. "Taking the Stand" describes the criminal prosecution of rapists from the perspective of the women who survived their violence and explores if, when, and how the criminal justice process can work for them. Walking through the various responses rape victims have had to the criminal justice process, Konradi's vivid analysis provides new information to help raped women decide whether and how they should participate in prosecution, to help friends and family assist them, and to improve criminal justice practice for crime victims generally.

The Date Rape Prevention Book is a proactive source of information essential for girls and women to safeguard themselves.

To the average student, the definitions of date rape and sexual assault are notoriously unclear. The video firmly reinforces the concepts that rape has its roots in hate crime; date rape is just as wrong as rape by a stranger and underscores the rules of the dating game: a date is not an invitation for sex; No means No; and the inability to give consent doesn’t mean Yes.

Sexual Assault in the Military serves as an easy-to-use, comprehensive reference guide for military members and their families about sexual assault and harassment. The authors discuss the current state of affairs, the systems in place, and the supports available to victims and families. They provide documents that outline how reporting can and should take place, how cases should be handled through the military justice system, and how and where victims can access resources, including counseling.

A groundbreaking investigative documentary about the epidemic of rape within the U.S. military. Follows the stories of several idealistic young servicewomen who were raped and then betrayed by their own officers when they courageously came forward to report.

Stalking: Psychology, Risk Factors, Interventions, and Law provides hands-on guidance for criminal justice, mental health services and victim advocacy professionals. This "one-stop" desk reference draws on the fields of law, psychiatry, social work, criminology and sociology.

Bureau of Justice Statistic Special Report on stalking behavior and its victims. It includes both text and data.

Examines multiple aspects of partner stalking from the victim's perspective. This work presents the research as well as firsthand accounts of women who have survived partner stalking. Also available in hard-copy: 4th floor, 362.82 P273

For parents who are concerned that their daughter is in an unhealthy or abusive relationship, here at last is a book based on personal experience and authoritative research that provides answers.

Violence in and around schools is a global phenomenon, but the gender dimension has been largely ignored. This is the first a comprehensive account of the nature and scale of gender violence in school settings across the world.

Much has been written about the challenges that face urban African American young men, but less is said about the harsh realities for African American young women in disadvantaged communities. Sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, and even gang rape are not uncommon experiences. Miller brings a keen eye to the troubling realities of a world infused with danger and gender-based violence. These girls are isolated, ignored, and often victimized by those considered family and friends. Community institutions such as the police and schools that are meant to protect them often turn a blind eye, leaving girls to fend for themselves. Also available in hardcover: 4th floor, 362.76 M648