Databases for Peer-Review Articles
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Current reports covering a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Search by topic or browse issues to find reports.
Environmental Science Databases
GEOSCAN This link opens in a new window
Freely-available bibliographic database for over 70,000 earth sciences publications, with links to full-text when available.
(Government of Canada)
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text database offering extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study in journals, books and monographs.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment in scholarly, government and general-interest sources.
Newspaper Databases for Local Information
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times and The Times (London) - and selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes full-text television & radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
University History Sites
WCU Student Newspapers
Contains digitized copies of all of the Student Newspapers from 1892-2011. Search for Buildings by Name and limit by date.
WCU Course Catalogs
The Course Catalogs include a brief history of the university as well as the functions of the buildings on campus. Cannot search across all catalogs but can search within catalogs.
The Yearbooks will have images of the buildings on campus and occasionally highlight the people who the buildings are named after. Cannot search across Yearbooks but can search within a yearbook.
Office of Sustainability
WCU's Office of Sustainability website. Discusses the university's initiatives as well as educational opportunities at WCU.