SWG 554 Movie Analysis - Philadelphia

Need Help? Contact a Librarian

Chat with us!
 
 
Call 610.436.2453
Text 610.915.8659


Available today:

Your Librarian

Danielle Skaggs's picture
Danielle Skaggs
Contact:
610-436-2401

Getting Started

This guide will help you with your movie analysis assignment by showing you how to:

  • Find movies at WCU.
  • Find additional sources to describe the theory you are using to assess your character.
  • Find scholarly references.
  • Get the full text of articles that aren't available online. 
  • Use Google Scholar.

Helpful Reference for the Assignment

Your professor provided an article that serves as a helpful reference for the assignment. Click on the article title below to access it. 

Ballard, M. B. (2012). The family life cycle and critical transitions: Utilizing cinematherapy to facilitate understanding and increase communications. Journal of Creativity in Mental Health, 7(2), 141-152. 

I linked the article here, but a quick way to find the full text of an article from a citation like this one is:
  1. Copy the article title (the part linked in this case) and
  2. Search for it in OneSearch (search box in the center of the library's home page).

Finding Movies

To check if the library has a movie:

  1. Go to the Library Search box on the library's homepage.
  2. Enter the movie title and switch the box that currently says Everything to Catalog.
  3. Click Search. 
  4. Scan the results for your title. 

If too many results are showing up, and it's hard to find just the DVDs:

  1. On the left, look for the heading Source Type.
  2. Click on Audio Visual.

How to Get a DVD from WCU

Once you find a DVD we own, fill out the Distance Students Book/DVD Request form

Describing the Theory Used to Assess Your Character

Search Credo Reference using this search box to find additional descriptions of the theory you are using to assess your character.  Credo Reference contains entries from subject encyclopedias, which focus on providing clear, comprehensive explanations of a topic (unlike scholarly articles, which showcase research on a particular aspect of a topic).  

Credo Logo

Finding Scholarly References

You can use the Library Search box to find scholarly articles and books: 

  1. Enter your topic as keywords.  Keywords are short 1-3 word phrases that cover the main aspects of your topic. For example, you might use the theory you are using to assess your character as one of your keywords.
    • Put phrases into quotation marks, like "attachment stability" or "public assistance"
    • Try synonyms to bring back different results.  "child care" "public assistance" will bring back different sources than "child care" SNAP.
  2. After you click Search, a page with results will come up. On the left hand side look for the heading Source Type.
    • Choose Articles to find scholarly articles.
    • Choose Books to find books.
  3. For scholarly articles, choose Scholarly/Peer-reviewed Journals under Show Only.
    • If you are looking for books, don't choose this option. To find a scholarly book, you'll need to look at the book itself - it should have references to the literature and may be published by a university. 
  4. To get the full text of an article, click on the article title, then look for the View it section of the page that appears. Click on the link next to Full text available at to go to the full text of the article. 
     Full text available at plus link
  5. You can also get a citation for the article in APA style by clicking on the Citation button ().  Then choose APA as your citation format.  Be sure to double-check this citation before you submit it with your paper using the Owl at Purdue or another style guide. 

 

Enter your search in the Library Search box below.

Requesting a Scanned Copy of a Print Article

If you click on Check Availability and the article is only available in print, you can have the article scanned and sent to you online by:

  1. Logging in, if you haven't already done so.
  2. Clicking on the ILLiad for Articles link
  3. Logging in to your ILLiad account (directions on setting it up as a distance student).
  4. A page with the articles information now appears. Verify the information is correct.
  5. Enter a note that the article is only available in print and then click on Submit.
  6. When the article has been scanned, you'll receive an email.

 

Requesting an Article that WCU Doesn't Have

If you click on Check Availability and WCU doesn't have it, you can request the article by:

  1. Logging in, if you haven't already done so.
  2. Clicking on the ILLiad for Articles link
  3. Logging in to your ILLiad account (directions on setting it up as a distance student).
  4. A page with the articles information now appears. Verify the information is correct, and then click on Submit.
  5. When the article arrives, you'll receive an email. It usually takes 2-3 business days.

Google Scholar

Let Google Scholar know you should have access to WCU resources by: 

  1. Click on the menu (three horizontal parallel lines)in the upper left on the Google Scholar homepage.

  2. Choose Setting from the menu that appears. 

  3. Click on Library Links from the left menu. 

  4. Search for West Chester University, then click on the box next to the result that says West Chester University Libraries-- Find-It @WCU, and select Save. 

After you have done this, look for links that say either Find-It @ WCU or Check Availability @ WCU, to see if full text is available through WCU.

West Chester University   ---    WCU Libraries  25 West Rosedale Avenue, West Chester, PA 19383  610-430-4400