LibGuides: Choral Music Research: Databases

START YOUR RESEARCH WITH DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, AND HISTORIES

Oxford Music Online
Comprehensive music encyclopedia, includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
Classical Music Reference Library
Essential reference materials covering the entire history of Western classical music from the Medieval period to the 21st century. Includes Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.

Harvard Dictionary of Music
E-book with entries on all the styles and forms of Western music, and comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East.
Historical Dictionary of Choral Music
Contains a chronology, an introduction, a bibliography, and more than 1,000 cross-referenced dictionary entries on important composers, genres, conductors, institutions, styles, and technical terms of choral music.

Oxford History of Western Music
The online version of the 2009 5-volume set covering music from the earliest notations to the late 20th century.

History of Western Choral Music, Vol. 1
Examines the development of choral music from the beginnings of choral polyphony in the fifteenth century through the Renaissance and Baroque eras into the sacred works of the Classic–Romantic age.
History of Western Choral Music Vol. 2
Examines the development of choral music from the beginnings of choral polyphony in the fifteenth century through the Renaissance and Baroque eras into the sacred works of the Classic–Romantic age.

IPA Source

Library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.