Use this guide to find resources to write your senior research paper.
When searching within article databases, avoid searching complex phrases.
For example if you're searching how gentrification has impacted low income communities, search for a combination of terms such as ---
(gentrification OR gentrify) AND ("low income" OR socioeconomic) AND (communit* OR neighborhoods)
Note, an asterisk with search for different variations of a term and quotes will indicate a term rather than two separate words
Access to all Annual Review journals that are part of WCU Libraries' subscription.
Current reports covering a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Search by topic or browse issues to find reports.
eBooks, reference, and video titles in the social sciences.
A comprehensive and high quality sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
Full text scholarly journal articles in Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Business, Health, and General Sciences.
Access all WCU-subscribed Web of Science databases including: Web of Science Core Collection (1984-present), KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980-present), Grants Index (1953-present), Preprint Citation Index (1991-present), ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index (1637-present), and SciELO Citation Index (2002-present). Web of Science Core Collection contains 4 smaller editions: Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) (1984-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) (1984-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) (1984-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) (2019-present).
One of the best places to start your research in any discipline.
Documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The papers show many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche.
Primary source material representing the culture and identity of African American communities primarily in Atlanta, New York, Chicago, and North Carolina.
Original British source material from a gendered perspective in history, literature, sociology, and education.
Primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present covering women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
Original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organization, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features that study the everyday lives of ordinary people in Britain from 1937 until the mid-1950s.
Documents highlighting different responses to the challenges of overcoming prejudice, segregation and racial tensions. Includes survey material, interviews, statistics, educational pamphlets, administrative correspondence, and photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes.
