Education Source contains the largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals providing scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties.
Full-text documents for a variety of source types including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more. In addition, it provides an education-specific thesaurus that includes controlled vocabulary to help users find what they need.
eBook Education Collection
This collection features quality e-books supporting students and faculty in the education discipline. Titles range from introductory texts for undergraduate coursework to more complex and detailed works for advanced students and scholars. Also included are support materials for teachers and professionals working in K-12 and higher education classrooms, covering topics from curriculum building to student behavior and dynamics.
Search Credo to locate definitions, background information, and biographies from reference e-books in a wide range of subjects
An independent news organization that provides comprehensive coverage on K-12 education news, analysis, and opinion.
Education in Video
A valuable source for research-based professional development video resources, Education in Video contains streaming videos developed specifically for training and developing teachers, .
(Alexander Street Press)
Films on Demand
Streaming educational videos in a wide variety of subject areas.
Create a personal account to save to Playlists or Favorites. Help
(Films Media Group)
PBS Video Collection
(Alexander Street Press)
APA - references
A guide to APA references for the 7th edition (2020)
APA Formatting and Style Guide
Covers all aspects of APA formatting (7th ed.), including the paper itself and references. From The Online Writing Lab (The OWL) at Purdue University.
APA Crash Course 7th ed.
A tutorial with a series of sections on citing references, bias free writing, formatting in-text citation, etc. You can work through each segment or navigate the part you need. Some section have video.
Action Learning in Schools by Teaching is becoming increasingly complex in the 21st Century, creating a need for more sophisticated frameworks to support teachers' professional learning. Action learning is one such framework and has been used for workplace learning in business settings for many years. It is now becoming increasingly popular in school and university settings, but it is often misunderstood. This book clarifies what action learning is, linking key concepts to illustrate that it is not merely a process, but a dynamic interaction between professional learning, communities, leadership and change. The book brings together more than a decade of the authors' research in school-based action learning. Rich and diverse, the research draws on more than 100 case studies of action learning by teams of teachers in schools. The authors: provide practical advice on how to initiate and sustain action learning; explain the interaction between action learning, teacher development, professional learning, community building, leadership and change; and illustrate how action learning can link to classroom practice so closely that it becomes part of what teachers do, rather than an added impost. Addressing the highs and lows, the successes and failures, and their underlying causes, Action Learning in Schools provides insights into theories of cooperation, innovation, leadership and community formation to inform individual projects and large-scale school improvement initiatives. It will be of interest to teacher educators, pre-service and experienced teachers alike, as well as school and education system managers and policymakers keen to enhance teacher professional learning and educational outcomes for students.
Publication Date: 2009
Practice-Based Professional Development in Education by Teachers, as life-long learners, engage in professional development to deepen their understanding of content and instructional methods. Teacher professional development is a form of adult education, and adults learn best if they are actively involved in their own learning and see it relative to their own needs. Grounding professional development in actual classroom practice is a highly powerful means of fostering effective teachers. Research has shown that, for professional development to be effective, several components of instruction should be considered: reflection on practice, problems arising in practice, subject matter content, and principles of adult learning. Practice-Based Professional Development in Education is a cutting-edge research publication that explores both effective and ineffective professional development practices and presents arguments for why adult learning theory should be considered when designing a professional development session. Highlighting a range of topics including social media, education reform, and teacher learning, this book is essential for teachers, academicians, education professionals, policymakers, curriculum designers, researchers, and students.
Publication Date: 2020
Practitioner research and professional development in education by Drawing directly on the work of teachers and other professional trainers concerned with programmes for continuing professional development, this book promotes action research for practitioners so as to develop qualities of critical appraisal and analysis of practice, appropriate to professional contexts.
Publication Date: 2004