ENG 295 (Banner)

Note: You will need to create a personal user account to access Artstor. If you have an existing JSTOR account, you can use that by linking it to Artstor.
A couple ways to search.
1) Search for an artist from the Harlem Renaissance by name to bring back images of his/her work.
2) Go to advanced search, set the date range from 1918-1940, search for Harlem. That search brought back quite a few historic photographs.

This is a streaming music database devoted to jazz. Keep in mind that the vast majority of recordings are going to be from a later period, even if some of the songs were written during the Harlem Renaissance. However, I was able to find a record by Louis Armstrong and King Oliver recorded in 1924, so there is some material dating back that far.
A couple of possible approaches:
1) Search for a musician, then look in the left hand column for the "date written/recorded" limiter and see there is anything from the time period.
2) Start be researching jazz songs from the time period, then search for them in the database by name.

This is a streaming dance video database. As with the jazz database above, just about all the videos were produced much later than the time period, but there are later documentaries that will contain original clips. A quick search brought up a couple such documentaries-- one called "Tap Dance History" and another "The Call of the Jitterbug". You could also try searching for specific dancers or choreographers.

Classical music performances, opera, ballet, concerts and documentaries in streaming video.
(Naxos Digital Services, Ltd.)

This database has both original newsreels and documentaries that would include historical clips. For instance, I found Ken Burn's Jazz documentary.

Documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States, including the California Newsreel African American Classics collection. Same interface as American History in Video.

Has coverage of the relevant period from the NY Times, Philadelphia Tribune, Wall Street Journal, and Chicago Tribune. Useful for the coverage of specific people, places, events, performances, etc. For instance, i found a review of Thurman and Rapp's 1929 play Harlem in the New York Times.

The NY times is included in the database above, but I'm including a link that will allow you to search or browse it by itself.

We tend to think of Vogue primarily as a fashion magazine, but in addition to advertisements and images, there are articles covering all aspects of popular culture. For instance, I found a stunning image of Josephine Baker.