Books on Special Education
Most books on Special Education have the call number 371.9 and are located on the 4th floor.
You can browse the shelves in person or you can search the catalog by searching that call number to browse the shelves electronically, use the Library Catalog box below and change the search to call number.
Teacher professional development and classroom resources across the curriculum.
Differentiated Instruction Professional Learning Strategy
Library of video clips, guides, templates, etc. mostly on the secondary level.
Education in Video
Streaming videos, developed specifically for training and developing teachers, currently 118 titles.
Films on Demand
A collection of streaming videos on a variety of topics.
Video clips of lesson ideas and teaching practice. Can search for clips by subject area. grade level and topic. Among the topics are clips on class culture, differentiation and new teachers. Length of clips range from one to 15 minutes.
Let Google Scholar know you should have access to WCU resources by:
Click on the menu ()in the upper left on the Google Scholar homepage.
Choose Setting from the menu that appears.
Click on Library Links from the left menu.
Search for West Chester University, then click on the box next to the result that says West Chester University Libraries-- Find-It @WCU, and select Save.
After you have done this, look for links that say either Find-It @ WCU or Check Availability @ WCU, to see if full text is available through WCU.
Peer-reviewed articles, books, and other articles on all levels of education (from early childhood to higher education). A good place to start your search.
Full-text documents for a variety of source types including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more. In addition, it provides an education-specific thesaurus that includes controlled vocabulary to help users find what they need.
Full text journal articles published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations, back to volume 1, issue 1 for most titles. Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology.
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this resource contains peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Essential tool for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, providing extensive full-text coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
Disability in the Modern World
Includes primary and secondary text and video resources covering a wide range of disciplines in the area of disability studies.
(Alexander Street Press)
If you need books or articles WCU does not have, you can request them through interlibrary loan.
- Articles are requested through ILLiad.
Note: You will be asked for your WCU ID number.
- Books are requested through PALCI.
Note: You will need to have an authenticated library card number to request a book. If you have a WCU RAM card or need a library bar-code number you can request a Library Authentication Number
APA Formatting and Style Guide
Covers all aspects of APA formatting (6th ed.), including the paper itself and references. From The Online Writing Lab (The OWL) at Purdue University.
Covers all aspects of creating a paper using APA formatting (6th ed.), citations, and reference list. Also provides help with grammar and punctuation. From the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
Frequently Asked Questions About APA Style
Use this list of common questions about references, punctuation, grammar, and style to get official answers directly from the American Psychological Association itself. For help with specific citation examples, use one of the other sites.
Websites for Educators
PDE Special Education
Pennslvania Department of Education. Documents and other information related to Special Education in Pennsylvania
U S Department of Education
Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services. Information on IDEA and other federal information.
Kathy Schrock 's Guide for Educators
categorized list of sites useful for enhancing curriculum and professional growth
The Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It provides information on standardized tests. FAQs